LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2003, 02:51 PM   #1
Boom
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Deadhat 8.0
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: 15
Opinions on Gentoo?


I downloaded the ISO last night. Should I install it in place of Redhat 8? Is Gentoo user freindly for a noob? I have read that it automatically takes care of dependencies which would be nice. And I think it uses apt-get? Which is supposedly very cool even though Im not that familiar with it.

I am generally happy with RH8, but Im still experimenting with different distros to see what each one has to offer.

Just curiosly what Gentoo users (newbies esp.) think of it.
 
Old 01-09-2003, 09:42 PM   #2
born4linux
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2002
Location: Philippines
Distribution: Slackware, RHEL&variants, AIX, SuSE
Posts: 1,127

Rep: Reputation: 49
never tried gentoo. but based from online docs, it is just like when slackware was blooming.

major leap - from red hat to gentoo
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GENTOO.. "etc-update" versus Manual update opinions.. l0f33t Linux - Distributions 2 09-17-2003 05:16 AM
Gentoo Linux opinions? l0f33t Linux - Distributions 6 08-19-2003 03:39 PM
Opinions totally5150 Linux - General 7 06-27-2003 11:14 PM
Opinions Please LinuzRulz Linux - Distributions 14 03-03-2002 02:05 PM
Your Opinions newbietolinux Programming 18 01-05-2002 08:37 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration