LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 07-06-2001, 01:28 PM   #1
lhoff
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0 Official
Posts: 181

Rep: Reputation: 30
OPINION: What Linux users need


I'm not a programmer, or an experienced UNIX user (my last experience actually working within a UNIX command line was in 1997, when I had to fire up PICO to do things on the company server). I'm a user, who first used Macs and then switched (for expediency in work) to Windows. Work, for me, means Photoshop, Powerpoint, Illustrator and other graphic applications. I'm trying Linux Mandrake 8 now because I'm interested in this new OS that I keep hearing so much about. Windows is too unwieldy and Macs are too expensive.

It took me a week to install Linux successfully. Since then, I've tried to acquire and install additional programs. When I couldn't do this, I posted questions to this (and other) lists about how to install an app on Linux. The answers that I got showed me that if I want to use Linux, I have to learn to think of it as a "codeset" (is that a good term?) and to use this thing called a "shell" with its command line to perform program installations.

I'm an OS ignoramus, not knowing what's "under the hood" and not wanting to know. I'm remembering 1991, when I had to learn DOS and type things like "A:install.exe" as I waded through cryptic README documents. <<shudder!>> I haven't had to do that since '94 and I don't want to go back. Since I would like to use Linux as an alternative OS (with KDE as my desktop environment), I'm going to want to install programs that didn't come with my Mandrake distribution. I'm surprised that I haven't come across an equivalent to the Installer programs like InstallWise that proliferate in Windows and Mac-ville. Is there an initiative under way in the Linux community to provide an installer app like these with the programs that get distributed in Open Source? Would installers compromise the open source initiative?People like me who just want to accomplish certain tasks with our computers are going to need such a thing. Is Linux intended for people like me?

What do you all think? Thanks for reading this.
 
Old 07-06-2001, 01:55 PM   #2
trickykid
Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2001
Posts: 24,133

Rep: Reputation: 199Reputation: 199
Well the way I see it is this:

If you want a point & click and let Windows do all the behind the scenes stuff for you, then Linux isn't really for you.
Linux is an OS where you see what is going on cause your doing it most of the time. Its for people who want full control of their system.
There are some programs out there getting better, like Star Office, you start that install and its like your back in Windows again.


If you want full control, use Linux, if you like the point and click, let the OS do everything for you, then go with a alternative.

Just my opinion.
 
Old 07-06-2001, 05:42 PM   #3
webtoe
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2001
Location: Cambridge, England
Distribution: Slackware 10, Fedora Core 3, Mac OS X
Posts: 617

Rep: Reputation: 30
rpm is the closest that you will get (it is in the k menu). you can install most things with it and it just one click and you;re away.

but as tricky kid says, you really need to want to learn some of the 'under the hood' stuff. it makes things alot easier and you;ll know what to do when we ask for more detail and/or give advice/answers.

it;s a lot like a car really. you can;t just jump into any old car and drive it the same way as you drive your car. you have to learn the new system and all its suble neunces that come with it. in the same way, you don;t _need_ to learn how all the engine, clutch exhaust etc. work to be able to drive it.

os's are the same.

Alex

P.S. btw, you get used to this way of doing things. i remember trying to get games etc. to run in dos and the hassle of remembering the archane switches that it used such as /L /P /W:S and so forth. the linux commands are alot more logical and there is much more extensive help which is easier to use/read than the help that came with ms-dos
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need your opinion on Linux research for school machinated Linux - Newbie 13 07-14-2005 04:10 PM
opinion on which type of linux to use? macboysf Linux - Newbie 9 04-28-2005 08:13 AM
Opinion: Promoting Linux. rvijay LinuxQuestions.org Member Success Stories 27 07-23-2004 04:23 PM
Opinion (Rate:Peanut Linux koolkat Linux - Distributions 7 09-28-2003 10:58 AM
Opinion on Linux Today dilys Linux - General 21 02-17-2003 07:37 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration