LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 12-25-2007, 01:39 PM   #1
qennster
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2001
Location: St. Louis
Distribution: Trying to use Ubuntu
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: 15
Opinion on new Distro.


I have Ubuntu 7.10 on my Dell 1501 running with a 1.8GHz Sempron and 1GB of ram. Ubuntu runs great but I do notice that I do not do any “heavy” computing on this machine. I am thinking of changing OS to a more entertainment friendly Distro. Mostly I surf the internet using a wireless card, watch a lot of podcasts, download TV torrents and would like to add a Hauppauge WINTV-USB2 99016 to use LIRC and a PVR. I occasionally use Openoffice but that is about it. Would Mythbuntu work out or can anyone give me their opinion on what they use/would use?
 
Old 12-25-2007, 01:43 PM   #2
deepumnit
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Location: NOIDA, India
Distribution: Debian, SUSE, Fedora
Posts: 334
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 31
CheckOut! this.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
best distro for wireless: my opinion joshknape Linux - Wireless Networking 2 03-13-2006 11:00 PM
Need your opinion/suggestions on distro, mail server, etc. RiS-fantom Linux - General 2 12-29-2005 05:28 PM
What distro in your opinion has the best apps? ctkroeker Linux - Distributions 6 06-05-2005 06:11 AM
I need an opinion on a distro which will run my video card! jacksmash Linux - General 2 10-19-2004 07:01 PM
Server distro opinion BrettPower Linux - Networking 5 06-30-2004 01:43 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration