LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 11-26-2003, 08:57 AM   #1
tchigi
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Sauerland, Germany
Distribution: Suse 8.2
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: 0
Unhappy I need some help with the autostart topic




Hello there,

on "Desktop 4" i have a console running the "netstat"-command.
Everytime i reboot my system the console appears on my Desktop 4 but
without running the "netstat"-command.

I now this is an easy or silly question, but its my first working with linux.

I think i have to config a file. Perhaps like running a deamon from startup, but i have no idea to solve it.

os.: Mandrake 9.2 - KDE

Best regards
Tchigi

Last edited by tchigi; 11-26-2003 at 09:00 AM.
 
Old 11-26-2003, 08:58 AM   #2
Demonbane
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 1,796

Rep: Reputation: 47
running gnome or kde?
 
Old 11-26-2003, 09:00 AM   #3
tchigi
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Sauerland, Germany
Distribution: Suse 8.2
Posts: 6

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
oh i forgot..

running KDE
 
Old 11-26-2003, 09:06 AM   #4
Demonbane
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 1,796

Rep: Reputation: 47
Go to KDE Control Center - Components - Session Manager, either choose "Start with an empty session" or "Restore manually saved session" then save the session(an option will appear in kde start menu) with nothing running.
 
Old 11-26-2003, 09:22 AM   #5
tchigi
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Sauerland, Germany
Distribution: Suse 8.2
Posts: 6

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
oh i forget to post my real problem :)

Well everytime i reboot i got the console on desktop 4.

My problem: How can i get the netstat-command started in the console automatically?

sorry bout this confusion, but foreign system and foreign language




Best regards
tchigi
 
Old 11-26-2003, 12:16 PM   #6
Thymox
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2001
Location: Plymouth, England.
Distribution: Debian + Ubuntu
Posts: 4,358

Rep: Reputation: 57
It sounds like what is happening is that the terminal is opened alright, but the program isn't started, which sounds quite normal. You could make a really tiny script that contains just the netstat command you normally run (with all switches and parameters) and then have that autorun instead of the terminal - it should open a terminal anyway, so give it a go.
 
Old 11-27-2003, 09:12 AM   #7
tchigi
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Sauerland, Germany
Distribution: Suse 8.2
Posts: 6

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally posted by Thymox
It sounds like what is happening is that the terminal is opened alright, but the program isn't started, which sounds quite normal. You could make a really tiny script that contains just the netstat command you normally run (with all switches and parameters) and then have that autorun instead of the terminal - it should open a terminal anyway, so give it a go.
Yes thats exact the point.
So can anyone give me an example on that?
I don't know how to create such a tiny script.


Best regards
tchigi
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Off Topic] Where is everyone from??? :) boutrosboutros Debian 2 06-08-2004 05:23 PM
A little off-topic pe2338 LQ Suggestions & Feedback 6 04-30-2004 06:29 AM
A little off topic but can some help me out? TheWiz Linux - Laptop and Netbook 3 07-25-2003 10:03 AM
topic : no topic Timbo General 14 03-27-2003 07:36 PM
Off Topic :) Tinkster General 8 02-02-2003 02:05 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration