LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Complete CCNA, CCNP & Red Hat Certification Training Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-21-2011, 12:35 PM   #1
manojbhagat
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
how to lock f3 to f6 windows in linux


sir as we know that we can use f1 to f6 windows symanteniasly multi process in linux. now i want to lock my f3 f4 f5 and f6. tell me full process of this as early as possible. thanks
 
Old 01-21-2011, 12:59 PM   #2
jdkaye
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Location: Westgate-on-Sea, Kent, UK
Distribution: Debian Testing Amd64
Posts: 5,464

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
1. Are you talking about virtual terminals (ctrl-alt-F1-F6)?
2. Is this a homework assignment?
3. Have you read the sticky at the beginning of this forum?
ciao,
jdk
 
Old 01-21-2011, 01:07 PM   #3
xeleema
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: D.i.t.h.o, Texas
Distribution: Slackware 13.x, rhel3/5, Solaris 8-10(sparc), HP-UX 11.x (pa-risc)
Posts: 987
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 252Reputation: 252Reputation: 252
Greetingz!

Quote:
Originally Posted by manojbhagat View Post
...i want to lock my f3 f4 f5 and f6.
Well, by "lock" do you mean;
a) Prevent them from being used (or from even existing), or
b) Be able to "lock" them once they're in-use, akin to a screensaver that requires a password?

Now as you have not specified what Linux distribution you are running, nor what CPU architecture, or clarified what you mean by lock, I'll assume the following;
Red Hat Enterprise Linux compatible on x86

Prevent the F[3-6] Sessions
You should have an /etc/inittab file. Before modifying this file, please be sure you have the following;
1) Physical Access to the system.
2) A bootable CD of your Linux/UNIX-based Operating System
3) A Full Backup of your Operating System
4) A quick, local backup of the /etc/inittab file

Check the /etc/inittab file for the following lines;

# Run gettys in standard runlevels
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1
2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6


Comment-out the ones you do not want (such as the ones starting with the numbers 3 through 6)
Conversly, you could change the run-level that these are spawned on. Some may want 3 - 6 to show up only when in single-user mode (Run Level 2, usually).

Require a Password for F[3-6] Sessions After Inital Login
You should have a command-line program called "vlock" (type "which vlock" to be sure).
Check the man page (type "man vlock") for it's usage.
There are also other terminal-session lock programs, such as "away" and "lockvc", but they may not be available in your Linux distribution.

Quote:
Originally Posted by manojbhagat View Post
...tell me full process of this as early as possible. thanks
Normally I wouldn't comment on this, as I can tell you're not a native-english speaker. However, I want to point out that this comes off as rather blunt, and seems more along the lines of "demanding" help, rather than "asking" for it.

See, there's a general expectation here at LQ (and most forums), that you're going to google around a bit first and maybe try a few things. If everyone said "Oh, I'll just post to a forum!" rather than so much as search a forum (or search the Internet as a whole, for that matter), then it would be very, very hard for anyone to find anything useful.

For that reason, I've personally started to develop a habit of not responding to...well, to put it bluntly...poorly worded posts that contain no relavent information other than "I don't speak the language, but I demand assistance". I know I'm a lesser man for developing such a vice, but perhaps by admitting it, and working to rid myself of it, I'll adapt and improve.

By the way, please hit "yes" or "no" to the "Did you find this post helpful?" on any posts you find helpful.
(Maybe take a gander at the links in my signature, too)

Last edited by xeleema; 01-21-2011 at 01:09 PM.
 
Old 01-21-2011, 01:15 PM   #4
PTrenholme
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Location: Olympia, WA, USA
Distribution: Fedora, (K)Ubuntu
Posts: 4,186

Rep: Reputation: 346Reputation: 346Reputation: 346Reputation: 346
Look at man xorg.conf for how to disable those keys in the X-server. Look at the kernel setting for how to tell the kernel not to create those TTYs when the kernel is loaded. (Version 4 of the X-server usually disables them by default, but different distributions can set different defaults.)

Note that the X-server, if you use one, will require at least one TTY.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X-Windows lock packages? Specter1981 Linux - Software 4 09-21-2009 01:55 PM
Num lock OFF and Caps & Screen Lock ON at Linux startup. Reversing? peteyperson Linux - Newbie 2 02-28-2009 12:44 PM
LXer: Mac, Windows, lock in, Linux, freedom, got it? LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 04-23-2006 04:54 PM
LXer: Xandros Server, Utilizing BRU, Delivers Linux Alternative To The Windows Lock On The SMB Space LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 04-22-2006 12:54 AM
xfce4 lock maximized windows compu73rg33k Linux - Software 0 01-23-2006 07:19 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration