LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2008, 03:29 PM   #1
awmian
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: 15
How do I adjust the time of my system with daylight saving time in effect?


I am using Gnome under Fedora. I can't seem to find out how to set my system time with daylight saving time accounted for. Can anyone help me with this. In windows its pretty easy as there is an option for clock adjustment for DST.
 
Old 09-03-2008, 03:48 PM   #2
farslayer
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Distribution: linuxdebian
Posts: 7,232
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 190Reputation: 190
For fedora try..

system-config-date

or

timeconfig

you should be able to select your timezone.
 
Old 09-04-2008, 06:09 AM   #3
awmian
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Posts: 22

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by farslayer View Post
For fedora try..

system-config-date

or

timeconfig

you should be able to select your timezone.
I think I could not make myself clear. I am able to select my timezone. BUT there is no option for DST. So if I select my city (+5 GMT) my system clock is 1 hour behind the local time with DST in effect. The only way I can think of is to select a +6 GMT timezone. However, I just wanted to know if I could select my original timezone and have the system automatically adjust for DST?
 
Old 09-04-2008, 09:57 AM   #4
farslayer
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Distribution: linuxdebian
Posts: 7,232
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 190Reputation: 190
so select the proper time zone then...

I have America/New_York selected as my timezone and that woks fine for me GMT+5 with DST enabled..

Code:
it-etch:/~ # zdump -v /usr/share/zoneinfo/America/New_York | grep 2008
/usr/share/zoneinfo/America/New_York  Sun Mar  9 06:59:59 2008 UTC = Sun Mar  9 01:59:59 2008 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/usr/share/zoneinfo/America/New_York  Sun Mar  9 07:00:00 2008 UTC = Sun Mar  9 03:00:00 2008 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/usr/share/zoneinfo/America/New_York  Sun Nov  2 05:59:59 2008 UTC = Sun Nov  2 01:59:59 2008 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/usr/share/zoneinfo/America/New_York  Sun Nov  2 06:00:00 2008 UTC = Sun Nov  2 01:00:00 2008 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
How old is your system ? maybe you don't have the proper tzdata files installed ?

Last edited by farslayer; 09-04-2008 at 10:09 AM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System time vs Hardware time and Daylight Savings Time Toadman Linux - General 6 03-17-2007 09:12 AM
System time vs Hardware time and Daylight Savings Time Toadman Linux - Networking 6 03-16-2007 08:14 PM
Doub about `net time set` and daylight saving time Thakowbbery Linux - Software 0 10-17-2005 06:23 AM
DO NOT use Daylight Saving Time - how? EcceVery Debian 4 05-28-2005 03:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration