LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2007, 02:10 PM   #1
madmax007
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
Dst


Hi I havea NTP (network time Protocol Server) and I have to update the day light time for upcoming march,
I have the following information
OS linux 2.4
/etc/sysconfig/clock file has following information
ZONE="America/New_York"
UTC=false
ARC=false

also i have ntpd (deamon running)

and when i take zdump
# zdump -v US/Eastern |grep 2007
US/Eastern Sun Mar 11 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
US/Eastern Sun Mar 11 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
US/Eastern Sun Nov 4 05:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:59:59 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
US/Eastern Sun Nov 4 06:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:00:00 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

Please let me know how to update NTP Linux server with DST.

Madmax
 
Old 02-28-2007, 02:15 PM   #2
alienux
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Distribution: Slackware 12, Fedora Core, PCLinuxOS
Posts: 194

Rep: Reputation: 30
Maybe I'm misreading your question, but those dates you listed from your zdump output are the correct new dates for DST.
 
Old 02-28-2007, 02:37 PM   #3
madmax007
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Sorry for misinformation.

The patch is applied but the clock is not getting the time updated.?
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DST patch on RH 7.0 cavladim Red Hat 10 03-31-2007 10:29 AM
Redhat 2007 DST Changes bryansail Linux - Software 10 03-11-2007 11:45 AM
new DST in USA Serena Debian 6 02-23-2007 01:32 PM
DST patch on RH 7.2 cavladim Linux - Server 1 01-15-2007 11:53 AM
How to disable DST in RH 9.0?? registering Red Hat 0 04-12-2004 09:20 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration