LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2011, 05:02 AM   #1
floopy1962
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu
Posts: 25

Rep: Reputation: 0
Question Don't know how to name this thread...


Where do i start...
I've been tired from windows and i could not resist temptation of installing Kubuntu Macverick, so i download DVD image and install it,
then i nitice that the Kde version is 4.5.1 so i wanted at leas 4.5.4 for few reasons and i google it a little and read that the Kubuntu backport repo is on /etc/apt/sources.list but is market as comment "#" and i have to unmark
deb http://bg.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ maverick-backports main restricted universe multiverse
deb-src http://bg.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ maverick-backports main restricted universe multiverse
and...
deb http://extras.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ maverick main
deb-src http://extras.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ maverick main
so i do it.
ops now i have 580 updates i install them and yupyyyy i have Kde 4.6 but here my problem starts
When i try to install something the whole screen freeze... the whole system freeze no the cursor freeze no hd activity and waiting doesn't help... i try it with couple restarts i find out that happen when "dpkg" is runnung (i think so... ) i can't see anything wrong in "/var/log/dpkg.log"
and i don't know if anybody will believe me but i return the "#" on
"deb http://bg.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ maverick-backports main restricted universe multiverse
deb-src http://bg.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ maverick-backports main restricted universe multiverse"
and...
"deb http://extras.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ maverick main
deb-src http://extras.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ maverick main" in "/etc/apt/sources.list" and freezing stop !?!
But i need this repos to get the last updates do i ? If i want to install something that depends on something that could roll back many packeges becouse they are from backport repository, i think so i don't know... that's why i'm here
So what should i do from how?
Thank you
EDIT
I lied... still freezes even if i add back the "#" i tried to install synaptic package manager but no luck...
any help i can't install anything.

Last edited by floopy1962; 02-27-2011 at 05:13 AM.
 
Old 02-27-2011, 07:22 AM   #2
stress_junkie
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.04 and CentOS 5.5
Posts: 3,873

Rep: Reputation: 332Reputation: 332Reputation: 332Reputation: 332
If you want software from the next version of Ubuntu then install the next version of Ubuntu. Expect problems because that version hasn't been released yet.
 
Old 02-27-2011, 09:23 AM   #3
floopy1962
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu
Posts: 25

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by stress_junkie View Post
If you want software from the next version of Ubuntu then install the next version of Ubuntu. Expect problems because that version hasn't been released yet.
OK i did fresh reinstall of Kubuntu 10.10 dvd and it then i did this:
Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:kubuntu-ppa/backports
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
forget about dpgk things nothing like that i think i something with the HD but my HD is brand new i buy it january and i was runnin kubuntu 10.10 on it before...
So your advice is to ugrade to natty?
Please all i want is kde 4.6 i believe it has even windows installer
btw 10x for the fast reply :P

Last edited by floopy1962; 02-27-2011 at 09:34 AM.
 
Old 02-27-2011, 09:44 AM   #4
stress_junkie
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.04 and CentOS 5.5
Posts: 3,873

Rep: Reputation: 332Reputation: 332Reputation: 332Reputation: 332
I just looked at the KDE web site. I found this page.
http://www.kde.org/info/4.6.0.php

It says that KDE 4.6 is available for Kubuntu 10.10.

The relevant Kubuntu web page is here.
http://www.kubuntu.org/news/kde-sc-4.6

That includes instructions to install KDE 4.6.0 on Kubuntu 10.10.
 
Old 02-27-2011, 07:30 PM   #5
floopy1962
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu
Posts: 25

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by stress_junkie View Post
I just looked at the KDE web site. I found this page.
http://www.kde.org/info/4.6.0.php

It says that KDE 4.6 is available for Kubuntu 10.10.

The relevant Kubuntu web page is here.
http://www.kubuntu.org/news/kde-sc-4.6

That includes instructions to install KDE 4.6.0 on Kubuntu 10.10.
Well i don't think kde 4.6 is the problem i'm now with 4.5.1 and still freezes at time to time... (i did 4 reinstalls for past two days i don't know to laugh or to cry )
i think is something with my hardwere... everything freeze and "caps look & scroll lock" starting to blink and i have to restart from the PC button.
So here some info about my pc (is a little trash but... )
CPU:AMP Sempron 2600+
HD:Western Digital 500gb 32mb-cache on SATA2
RAM:2x 512mb ddr400 (133mhz or 160 i'm not sure)
BOARD:GeForce 6100 M7
VIDEO:GeForce 6100 (on board)
DvD rom, two fans one on the processor and other on the pc box keyboard mouse bla bla bla...
i also have Windows 7 and there is no such a problems with it... about a 2 weeks i had Kubuntu 10.10 i install it december and february i upgrade it to natty alpha 1 and yesterday i decided to reinstall it and here i'm
is this something in bios or what? i tryed with cleaning the HD cache and and removing RAM... no luck
Any advices
 
Old 02-27-2011, 07:41 PM   #6
corp769
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,817

Rep: Reputation: 1002Reputation: 1002Reputation: 1002Reputation: 1002Reputation: 1002Reputation: 1002Reputation: 1002Reputation: 1002
Looks like kernel panics to me. Is this a home-built computer, or a brand name computer?
 
Old 02-27-2011, 07:51 PM   #7
floopy1962
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu
Posts: 25

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by corp769 View Post
Looks like kernel panics to me. Is this a home-built computer, or a brand name computer?
Thanks for fast replying i thing i found the problem but no idea how to fix my HD is the problem when i go to init 2 or 3 i saw just before login text its says kded4 error... EXT4-fs not found something like that i mean its a broken bloks in sda5 that is the linux or the swap i'm not sure... somebody know how to get rid of this broken block's without touching other partitions if i did fully format the partition with system comander cd will fix the problem... ?
Thanks

Last edited by floopy1962; 02-27-2011 at 07:53 PM.
 
Old 02-27-2011, 07:55 PM   #8
corp769
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,817

Rep: Reputation: 1002Reputation: 1002Reputation: 1002Reputation: 1002Reputation: 1002Reputation: 1002Reputation: 1002Reputation: 1002
Can you post the exact errors that you are getting?
 
Old 02-28-2011, 06:50 AM   #9
floopy1962
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu
Posts: 25

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by corp769 View Post
Can you post the exact errors that you are getting?
i don't really remember and i can't boot the linux right now... it was something like [kded4 error] EXT4-fs 123142234 not found bla bla in sda5"
This is a bad sectors, bad blocks whatever...
Do will help if try to delete the EXT4 and Swap partition from windows 7 and then scan tham with windows7 tool and defregment and then again make it ext4 ?
I don't know if somebody know more tricks about bad sectors without losing data :P
i believe i have bad sectors in windows to but ntfs never crashes like the new EXT4
Somebody know any tool for windows or linux whatever

Last edited by floopy1962; 02-28-2011 at 07:02 AM.
 
Old 02-28-2011, 09:35 AM   #10
onebuck
Moderator
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: Midwest USA, Central Illinois
Distribution: SlackwareŽ
Posts: 12,541
Blog Entries: 23

Rep: Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943
Hi,

I would perform disk diagnostics on the drive in question. You should use the manufactures diagnostic set first to verify things.

SystemRescueCd is a Linux system on a bootable CD-ROM for repairing your system and recovering your data after a crash. It aims to provide an easy way to carry out admin tasks on your computer, such as creating and editing the partitions of the hard disk. It contains a lot of system utilities (parted, partimage, fstools, ...) and basic tools (editors, midnight commander, network tools). You can look at the 'Online-Manual'.

UBCD Ultimate Boot CD allows users to run floppy-based diagnostic tools from most CDROM drives on Intel-compatible machines, no operating system required. The CD includes many diagnostic utilities that are very useful.

(R)ecovery (I)s (P)ossible is a SlackwareŽ Linux based rescue system.

Knoppix STD 0.1 is Security & Recovery Tool. You can look at Knoppix STD description.

You can find more in Tools, Recovery, Diagnostic, Emergency section of SlackwareŽ-Links.
 
Old 02-28-2011, 10:46 AM   #11
floopy1962
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu
Posts: 25

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by onebuck View Post
Hi,

I would perform disk diagnostics on the drive in question. You should use the manufactures diagnostic set first to verify things.

SystemRescueCd is a Linux system on a bootable CD-ROM for repairing your system and recovering your data after a crash. It aims to provide an easy way to carry out admin tasks on your computer, such as creating and editing the partitions of the hard disk. It contains a lot of system utilities (parted, partimage, fstools, ...) and basic tools (editors, midnight commander, network tools). You can look at the 'Online-Manual'.

UBCD Ultimate Boot CD allows users to run floppy-based diagnostic tools from most CDROM drives on Intel-compatible machines, no operating system required. The CD includes many diagnostic utilities that are very useful.

(R)ecovery (I)s (P)ossible is a SlackwareŽ Linux based rescue system.

Knoppix STD 0.1 is Security & Recovery Tool. You can look at Knoppix STD description.

You can find more in Tools, Recovery, Diagnostic, Emergency section of SlackwareŽ-Links.
i allredy found this tool but can't found 32bit image here http://www.sysresccd.org/Download it's says the default download choice is for 64bit... i download the some image from the mirror below on the image says systemrescuecd-x86-2.0.1.iso i burn it with nero becouse i did that from my friend PC
but CD doesn't boot at start
i'm sorry i'm such a pain in the ass... the only thing i do right is the thread title
shoud i mark it as solve becouse is not a softwere problem but hardwere?
EDIT:
i read the system rescue documentation and i did the same thing.. i burn image x86 with nero but the cd doesn't boot
i also have a gparted live cd and it doesn't boot too wth ?
i have also old knoppix live cd (my first one) and it doesn't boot too... the only tool that was working for me was sys com 7 (system commander or system collection i'm not sure) but now the cd have to many scratches it doesn't work at all...
and i can't find from where i can download new one

Last edited by floopy1962; 02-28-2011 at 11:11 AM.
 
Old 02-28-2011, 11:00 AM   #12
onebuck
Moderator
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: Midwest USA, Central Illinois
Distribution: SlackwareŽ
Posts: 12,541
Blog Entries: 23

Rep: Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943Reputation: 1943
Hi,

The link http://www.sysresccd.org/Download clearly shows 'Download final stable version for i486/amd64 (default choice)' for Sourceforge download.

md5sum for above is '2d7ce2f33ba428357e1120e28e7ac598'. You did check it before burning the ISO image? And verify the burnt image?

What about the manufacture diagnostics? You should use these first then the alternatives.
 
Old 02-28-2011, 11:37 AM   #13
floopy1962
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu
Posts: 25

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by onebuck View Post
Hi,

The link http://www.sysresccd.org/Download clearly shows 'Download final stable version for i486/amd64 (default choice)' for Sourceforge download.

md5sum for above is '2d7ce2f33ba428357e1120e28e7ac598'. You did check it before burning the ISO image? And verify the burnt image?

What about the manufacture diagnostics? You should use these first then the alternatives.
o god i'm so stupit... shame on me
little ashamed to say this but please don't laugh at me so i give my cd/dvd to my friend and his gone now and take other from other friend and didn't notice by now that the dvd rom is only for dvd
ok i'm now goin for cd rom and will post later if i got any trouble with the rescue cd
 
Old 03-01-2011, 02:36 PM   #14
floopy1962
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu
Posts: 25

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
...

ok lets finish this thred... just one more questions
I know that my hard drive is about to die... it's just a matter of time to completely give up but i think there is still live in it and i don't have a chance to buy a new one
So my hdd have a lot of bad sectors or blocks or whatever it is and linux with ext4 completely crash when meets a bad sector, it freeze and keyboard starting to blinking and i can't do nothing.I make several scans on all partitions with systemrescuecd and my ntfs partitions have a lot of bad sectors too.... BUT my windows doesn't crash never.
I have original (not pirate copy) Windows 7 ultimate home or something like that... sometimes may lag for second or two but never crash.
So my questions is why Linux with ext4 crash whenever he meet a bad sector but Windows don't? What if i install Kubuntu in ntfs with Wubi installer
That it's thank you for yours posts and sorry to be such a pain in the ass
 
Old 03-07-2011, 07:33 PM   #15
floopy1962
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Distribution: Ubuntu, Kubuntu
Posts: 25

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
solvation...

Ok my hdd is dead... throwing it to trash will solve the problem
SOLVED
Thanks :P
 
  


Reply

Tags
dpkg, kde, maverick, repositores, ubuntu


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
worker thread queue (or thread pool) in C under linux? matth45 Programming 7 03-13-2012 08:19 AM
python thread safety: printing from thread to redirected stdout - safe? BrianK Programming 2 10-11-2010 12:28 PM
the return value of getpid() called from main thread and new thread r identical !!! cryincold Programming 3 02-29-2008 02:37 AM
Main thread sending notification to child thread rajesh_b Programming 1 09-22-2004 10:15 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration