LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-30-2004, 10:15 AM   #1
Michele
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2001
Location: Detroit
Posts: 31

Rep: Reputation: 15
Question cron complaints after reinstall Mandrake 9.1


Hi:

I deleted some files and had to reinstall Mandrake 9.1 Everything is working fine except that 3 or four people cannot access the server from the local domain. They can access from outside the local domain but nothing else, not even to view the website.

I'm not really sure what is going on, everything looks fine. The only clue I have is the complaint from Cron. I don't know what the complaints mean and when I google them I don't get an answer that is in english and I don't know japanese.

Here are the errors:

error: Ignoring rpm.rpmnew, because of .rpmnew ending
error: Ignoring msec.rpmnew, because of .rpmnew ending
error: Ignoring syslog.rpmnew, because of .rpmnew ending
error: Ignoring cron.rpmnew, because of .rpmnew ending
error: Ignoring xdm.rpmnew, because of .rpmnew ending
error: Ignoring urpmi.rpmnew, because of .rpmnew ending
error: Ignoring apache-conf.rpmnew, because of .rpmnew ending
error: Ignoring linuxconf.rpmnew, because of .rpmnew ending
error: Ignoring sudo.rpmnew, because of .rpmnew ending


If anyone can help with interpretation of these to point me in the right direction I would really appreciate it.

Thanks.
 
Old 06-30-2004, 11:47 AM   #2
penguin4
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: california
Distribution: mdklinux8.1
Posts: 1,209

Rep: Reputation: 45
Michele: were the rpm,s changed? those error mssg state rpmnew check them out. that maybe it. as far as am aware there is interpreters of Japanese software some where within apps.
 
Old 06-30-2004, 01:40 PM   #3
Michele
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2001
Location: Detroit
Posts: 31

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Question certain users can't access mail or website internally

I have users that can't pickup their mail from the local subnet, but can pick it up using a web based interface such as mail2web.com

Also, these same users can't see our website from the local subnet but can see it from outside the subnet.

Any thoughts?
 
Old 06-30-2004, 09:10 PM   #4
penguin4
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: california
Distribution: mdklinux8.1
Posts: 1,209

Rep: Reputation: 45
michele ; http://tldp.org/HOWTO/HOWTO-INDEX section 4.4 expend also
4.5 expend also.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to reinstall X under mandrake 10.1 william777 Linux - Software 5 01-25-2005 07:26 PM
Firefox complaints TazG Linux - Software 10 09-04-2004 10:08 AM
more complaints to the SEC jailbait General 1 06-22-2004 04:00 PM
No complaints scottown Red Hat 2 08-30-2003 11:34 PM
anyone have any complaints about the Netgear MA311 PCI wireless card?? xenome Linux - Wireless Networking 1 02-16-2003 11:47 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration