LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 05-01-2011, 10:17 AM   #1
Sumguy
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: Rural Kentucky, USA.
Distribution: Slackware; Crunchbang.
Posts: 403
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 97
Question Audio Preview In Nautilus Stopped Working (Ubuntu 10.04)


Hi, Everyone,

My audio preview (Where you hold the cursor over an mp3 file in Nautilus and hear the file play) quit working. You still see the little musical note icon when holding the cursor over the file- as if it is playing- but there is no sound. If I click the file to play it in a music player, it will play normally- it is just the preview feature that is not working. I made sure that the feature was still set in Nautilus...it is.

I'm using Ubuntu 10.04 and the version of Nautilus is 2.30.1. The preview was working fine from the time I installed Ubuntu 10 months ago, up until just now.

HELP!!! (I really need the preview feature, as I have a lot of files that were never labelled)
 
Old 05-01-2011, 01:23 PM   #2
corp769
Guru
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,807

Rep: Reputation: 996Reputation: 996Reputation: 996Reputation: 996Reputation: 996Reputation: 996Reputation: 996Reputation: 996
System -> Preferences -> Personal -> File Management
From there, click on the Preview tab and see if the setting for the "Preview Sound Files" option was changed. Also, did you install or remove any package around the same time before your problem started to happen?

Josh
 
Old 05-01-2011, 05:27 PM   #3
Sumguy
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: Rural Kentucky, USA.
Distribution: Slackware; Crunchbang.
Posts: 403
Blog Entries: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 97
Josh, Yes, everything looks O-K under the preview tab- and the little musical note icon even appears when I try and preview a file...there is just no sound.

Haven't installed any new packages. I did download a printer driver T'other day...but haven't installed it yet nor hooked up the new printer yet.....

Any ideas?

Thank
 
Old 05-03-2011, 02:15 AM   #4
Sumguy
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: Rural Kentucky, USA.
Distribution: Slackware; Crunchbang.
Posts: 403
Blog Entries: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 97
O-K guys....I solved the problem.

It seems that for some reason, the previews are tied to Rhythmbox. Somehow, the volume in Rhythmbox had gotten turned all the way down. (How that happened, I'll never know, because I use VLC and Movieplyer....never Rhythmbox!)

I upped the volume, and now the previews work!!!

I guess Rhythmbox is tied to system sounds? Is there any way to change that? I friggin hate Rhythmbox- I had actually wanted to delete it...guess it's a good thing I didn't, eh?
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply

Tags
audiovideo, nautilusactions, sounds, ubuntu104


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flash audio just stopped working Timothy Miller Debian 1 01-02-2011 07:40 PM
Audio stopped working on 9.10 x64 gimpy530 Ubuntu 6 07-11-2010 11:23 AM
[SOLVED] Nautilus Audio Preview (PulseAudio)? MaGicMaX Linux - Software 1 01-05-2010 11:33 PM
Audio stopped working BBB Linux - Hardware 1 08-05-2004 03:50 PM
audio preview with gnome (nautilus) and i810 ??? hulk1st Linux - Software 3 10-18-2003 07:54 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration