LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-05-2006, 12:01 PM   #1
patdawg
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4 Update 2
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: 0
Another dual-boot thread...


So, I have an Intellistation A-Pro that has one SATA drive in it with Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4 Update 2 installed, with a lot of applications and data on it that I can't mess with. What I'd like to do is add a second SATA drive and install WinXP Pro on it. What's the easiest way to setup a dual-boot like this?
 
Old 07-05-2006, 02:08 PM   #2
acid_kewpie
Moderator
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Distribution: Gentoo, RHEL, Fedora, Centos
Posts: 43,417

Rep: Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974
i guess this depends on what "easy" means really. often the easiest to get something up and running is not the easiest thing to manage in the long run. *MY* preference is to do a little groundwork in the first place to benefit in the long run. in your situation, i would say remove the linux drive, put windows in and install like a normal dedicated windows system, new drive runnign as master. then put the linux drive back in as master, and the windows drive as slave. then boot into linux exactly as you always have before. then you just need to add a grub entry to the linux system to boot to the windows one. this is where the little trick comes in in that you need to make windows *think* that it is the master drive when it boots, so we tell the bios to lie via grub: http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/manual/grub.html#map basically add a new section at the bottom of the /boot/grub/grub.conf file that says something liek
Code:
title Windows
	map (hd0) (hd1)
	map (hd1) (hd0)
	rootnoverify (hd1)
	chainloader +1
this says, make the master the slave, the slave the master, use the real slave drive without looking for linux there and use it as a valid boot device. that'll then appear in the boot menu next time and off you go. the main benefit here is that windows doesn't have a clue at all that the linux drive exists. normally you'd end up having windows as the master drive and have grub on that drive too, which is really horrible, especially with Windows affinity to overwrite bootsectors without asking you. this way windwos can not damage anything and if the linux drive goes tits up, just remove it, put windows back as the real master drive and it'll still boot without a second thought.
 
Old 07-05-2006, 03:37 PM   #3
patdawg
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4 Update 2
Posts: 14

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Thanks soo much dude...those tips definitely help, and I'm going to try it in an hour or two. Also, is grub a part of Linux, or something I need to install?
 
Old 07-05-2006, 04:48 PM   #4
acid_kewpie
Moderator
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Distribution: Gentoo, RHEL, Fedora, Centos
Posts: 43,417

Rep: Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974
grub is redhat's bootloader of choice. it will already be installed, you just need to modify the config file.
 
Old 07-05-2006, 08:41 PM   #5
patdawg
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4 Update 2
Posts: 14

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
I followed your instructions to the letter, and it worked perfectly. Thanks a ton for your help. This is much better for me than having two OSs on the same disk and messing around with partitions.
 
Old 07-06-2006, 02:31 AM   #6
acid_kewpie
Moderator
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Distribution: Gentoo, RHEL, Fedora, Centos
Posts: 43,417

Rep: Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974Reputation: 1974
muythoughts exactly. you'd also otherwise have been in the position that windows on install always overwrites the boot sector on the primary drive. so it you already had linux there you'd have had to reinstall grub afterwards just to get back to a level playing field.

HTH
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing dual Boot 98/Linux - WONT 'LILO' Dual Boot !? L1nux3d Linux - Laptop and Netbook 15 02-11-2006 06:36 AM
Fedora Core 3 Dual Boot, Dual Hard drives, Grub Boot Loader Denali03 Linux - Newbie 1 03-04-2005 02:44 PM
hOw to dual boot linux suse with a dual boot win98/xp pc walterkai SUSE / openSUSE 1 12-14-2004 06:04 PM
Another Dual Monitor Thread theguy311 Linux - Hardware 0 07-21-2004 08:17 PM
Internet Woe in RH 9.0 (Dual Thread) MyNameisLegion Linux - Networking 1 10-31-2003 11:44 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration