It is a very self explanatory file.
If you enable the option all the kernel messages will be displayed on the screen. And very obviously you do not want that. Right? All the messages are logged in the log file that keeps your screes from clogging. And you will like your screen to be clean and would not like messages to appear when you are typing something or doing some important work.