LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2005, 02:03 PM   #1
zahoo
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Location: EU, HUNGARY, Budapest
Distribution: Debian SID
Posts: 38

Rep: Reputation: 15
Exim4 conf problem (spam suspected by Yahoo)


Hi,

I just got enough of exim so I decided to move to exim4. I think that I configured it properly (similar way as the exim3) but when I'm sending mails to my yahoo account then I got a spam warning and my mails are moved into the Bulk folder.

I didn't give any hosts or domains additionally to relay for (aonly the default localdomain is set automatically by debconf). Do you know which are the crytical lines in the exim4.conf.template file what I have to take care on?

Thanks!


Zahoo
 
Old 02-27-2005, 02:50 PM   #2
bulliver
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Edmonton AB, Canada
Distribution: Gentoo x86; Gentoo PPC; Gentoo Sparc64; FreeBSD; OS X; Solaris
Posts: 3,731
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 58
This would be a problem with your yahoo account, not exim. Just set up your yahoo account to stop treating mails from your server as spam.

Why are you mailing yourself anyway?
 
Old 02-27-2005, 03:09 PM   #3
zahoo
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Location: EU, HUNGARY, Budapest
Distribution: Debian SID
Posts: 38

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Thanks bulliver!

I just sent the mail in order to check whether my exim4 server is running properly or not. Earlier I had some problem configuring exim3 because it was treated as open relay for a while. I fixed it and it was not an open relay anymore (it was 2 years ago). But now I had problem with exim3 cause it doesn't let me send mails. Something always keep changing the ownership of the "mainlog" file in the /var/log/exim/. I made a try to see if exim4 is doing the same stuff but I also wanted to check if it is configured well.

Thanks anyway!


Zahoo
 
Old 02-27-2005, 10:45 PM   #4
charon79m
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Just about anything... so long as it is Debain based.
Posts: 297

Rep: Reputation: 30
Yahoo might be listing you as spam if you do not have a proper PTR record for your IP address. I know AOL/TW do that sometimes too.

MrKnisely
 
Old 02-28-2005, 04:44 PM   #5
zahoo
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Location: EU, HUNGARY, Budapest
Distribution: Debian SID
Posts: 38

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Thanks charon79m!

Could you please tell me a bit more about PTR recor of the IP address and how it can be configured?


Thanks!

Zahoo
 
Old 03-04-2005, 10:44 PM   #6
charon79m
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Just about anything... so long as it is Debain based.
Posts: 297

Rep: Reputation: 30
PTRs are configured by the ISP... unfortunately you have no control over them.

If a mailserver is configured to check PTRs when an incoming email is received the server takes the source IP address and does a PTR lookup. It then makes sure that there is a valid PTR entry for the IP, it not it will reject the email. The theory is that if the mailserver is valid, then the company that owns the server would contact their ISP to have a PTR setup.

You can check what your PTR record is for your public IP by doing the following (Windows or Linux commands are the same):

nslookup (runs a command called nslookup)
set type=ptr (lets nslookup know you want to know info on PTR records)
x.x.x.x (Your public IP address, you can find this by going to http://whatismyip.com)

Below is the results off one of yahoo's IPs:

184.75.218.66.in-addr.arpa name = l1.login.vip.scd.yahoo.com

Now, some may say that nslookup is an antiquated application and that we should be using "dig" for this... perhaps they are right... I'd learn to use both you you are interested in computer networking.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yahoo marks Gmail messages as spam arunswarup General 8 11-04-2005 09:45 AM
exim4 smarthost and SBC Yahoo RonV Debian 1 04-18-2005 06:57 AM
Exim4/ sa-exim/Spamassassin - Flags as Spam but Still Accepts jonwatson Linux - Software 4 11-29-2004 06:18 PM
exim4 exim4, setup debian tongueroo Linux - Networking 1 11-09-2004 04:12 AM
problem with exim4 and Maildir ash4stuff Linux - Software 0 01-27-2004 02:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.

Main Menu
 
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration