LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook
User Name
Password
Linux - Laptop and Netbook Having a problem installing or configuring Linux on your laptop? Need help running Linux on your netbook? This forum is for you. This forum is for any topics relating to Linux and either traditional laptops or netbooks (such as the Asus EEE PC, Everex CloudBook or MSI Wind).

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Search this Thread
Old 01-04-2008, 04:20 PM   #1
irish rebel
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: new jersey in united states
Distribution: ubuntu 5.1
Posts: 109

Rep: Reputation: 15
nokia n800 review


Guy's I just posted a review of the Nokia N800 internet tablet over at
www.43hacks.com in case anyone wants to read it.
 
Old 01-05-2008, 09:03 AM   #2
Simon Bridge
Guru
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Waiheke NZ
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 9,211

Rep: Reputation: 197Reputation: 197
Solid blog entry, not really a review though.
Your ubuntu screenshots look cool though, what are you using for that dock?
 
Old 01-06-2008, 10:58 AM   #3
irish rebel
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: new jersey in united states
Distribution: ubuntu 5.1
Posts: 109

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
I have AVANT-WINDOW-NAVIGATOR as my dock with a nvidia 6800 fx pcie card
4 gig ddr2 ram Ubuntu Gutsy leopard wallpaper
 
Old 01-06-2008, 11:22 AM   #4
b0uncer
Guru
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: CentOS, OS X
Posts: 5,131

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Yup..reviews, or at least those that I've used to read trough, are more in-depth and usually longer. Nothing bad anyway, and it would be nice to read your thoughts (I value user thoughts and opinions more than the factory or seller ads with this sort of cadgets) about the newer N810 as well. Though as far as I understand, it's differences to N800 are gps unit, hardware keyboard (about which some say it could be better) and the new operating system, which is also available to N800 as known. Anyway, I planned on buying it, and would have liked to read more fresh opinions about it; right now, though, it doesn't matter since I won't be buying it because of the price (because I don't think a gps unit without a "full" software around it is worth over 200€, which is the price difference compared to the previous model which is basically the very same cadget).

If you can, please write your next "review" (if you call it that) slightly longer - not because of the text amount, but because you should get more details, opinions and other points in it. Also a "review" is not just your own opinion about how the thing works for your needs, but a more thorough look-trough about the device in general and for it's various uses, also those you don't use.
 
Old 01-17-2008, 06:09 PM   #5
irish rebel
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: new jersey in united states
Distribution: ubuntu 5.1
Posts: 109

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Well the Nokia n800 now has the gps software available thru maemo.org Basically its like ubuntu/debian distro in that I googled the maemo repositories installed them thru the application manager and behold an additional 200 applications available. I use abiword when I want to write a quick doc . I have mplayer working great playing everything under the sun.So if you read my blog youll see that I try to make myself as productive as possible using Linux and linux based items. I will be doing a more detailed entry on the Nokia and also one on the gp2x which I absolutely love. Go over to www.43hacks.com
 
Old 01-18-2008, 08:29 PM   #6
irish rebel
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: new jersey in united states
Distribution: ubuntu 5.1
Posts: 109

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Actually the nokia n800 os is debian based this is good because I was able to build some packages for min. Also someone has installed kde 3.58 on the nokia if u google u will see I did try but still havent got it installed.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question concerning booting a PC from a Nokia N800 hbbtstar Linux - General 2 09-10-2007 05:34 PM
Any Nokia N800 users? daihard Linux - Laptop and Netbook 0 08-09-2007 11:12 PM
LXer: Review: Nokia Navigation Kit for N800 Internet Tablet LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 07-13-2007 03:46 AM
Nokia N800 pointers please vees Linux - Laptop and Netbook 6 04-03-2007 04:51 PM
Nokia n800 is it worth it?? need input before buying izquierdista Linux - Laptop and Netbook 4 03-17-2007 10:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration