LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook
User Name
Password
Linux - Laptop and Netbook Having a problem installing or configuring Linux on your laptop? Need help running Linux on your netbook? This forum is for you. This forum is for any topics relating to Linux and either traditional laptops or netbooks (such as the Asus EEE PC, Everex CloudBook or MSI Wind).

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 11-23-2012, 10:11 AM   #1
Basher52
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: .SE
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 234

Rep: Reputation: 8
Angry Install F17 in DualBoot on Samsung NP300E7A that has Win7 HP


I've been searching a lot on this but can't find something that works.
I've been fidling with RedHat's OS's since RedHat 7 so if this works, GREAT
but if I have to go with some other OS... then so be it. (but I know ppl has got this working)

First I had had problems with partitioning and since that was due to 3 primary partitions already on
the HDD I nuked the recorvery partition and after that I could get beyond that problem.

Now I'm in trouble again
It keeps asking me to set the boot partition to GPT(or something) and I read somewhere that if I would
delete some file (can't recall the exact name) but it ended with .gpt many people got it to work.
I tried that but after that the CD wouldn't boot, I tried 4 CDs of the NetInstall(that I modified) and still
the same result.

How can I fix this "error"?
(I wanna nuke winblows but wifey won't let me.. yeah I'm a wuss)
 
Old 11-23-2012, 02:30 PM   #2
camorri
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Somewhere inside 9.9 million sq. km. Canada
Distribution: Slackware 14.1
Posts: 4,869

Rep: Reputation: 434Reputation: 434Reputation: 434Reputation: 434Reputation: 434
GPT is required for disks larger than 2 terabytes. gdisk is the command to create and modify GPT tables. See this link for some insight into GPT's. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GUID_Partition_Table

Does your system have a standard BIOS or is it UEFI?

man gdisk has a lot of information as well.

I don't have a 2 terabyte disk, so have not used gdisk. I have read several threads on this topic, so you may find useful information on the forum. UEFI is another bag of snakes.
 
Old 11-23-2012, 03:30 PM   #3
Basher52
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: .SE
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 234

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 8
The disk is just 500G and.. hmm about the BIOS and UEFI, I can't tell 'cos I have no clue what to look for
although I haven't seen anything with those letters in it.

Can't even turn OFF the stuff that let me see the boot text that usually shows (as far as I know)
 
Old 11-23-2012, 03:46 PM   #4
camorri
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Somewhere inside 9.9 million sq. km. Canada
Distribution: Slackware 14.1
Posts: 4,869

Rep: Reputation: 434Reputation: 434Reputation: 434Reputation: 434Reputation: 434
500 gig disks do not require GPT tables.

Can you post the make and model of the system? Laptop or desktop? UEFI has not been around for a long time, about a year or so for consumer systems.

Do you know how to enter the BIOS?
 
Old 11-23-2012, 04:12 PM   #5
Basher52
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: .SE
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 234

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 8
Laptop: "Samsung NP300A7E-A04SE" http://www.samsung.com/se/support/mo...ownloadName=UM
New: Have no idea, as of "creation" time, but I guess new-ish.
BIOS: Yeah, have already been there and changed the bootup order. I need to try to boot on other stuff before the HDD
 
Old 11-26-2012, 12:03 AM   #6
snafflekid
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2012
Location: San Jose, CA USA
Distribution: Fedora 17
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: 0
I am running Fedora17 dual boot with Win7 on a 320GB hard drive and had no issues during installation. Are you getting these messages from the Fedora install program? How big is your /boot partition?
 
Old 11-26-2012, 04:03 AM   #7
Basher52
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: .SE
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 234

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 8
Yeah, it's Fedora telling me this and the boot size is 500M
 
Old 11-28-2012, 12:06 AM   #8
snafflekid
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2012
Location: San Jose, CA USA
Distribution: Fedora 17
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: 0
Sorry for the long delay.

In your BIOS, can you check the boot order of devices?
If you are trying to install Fedora from a DVD-ROM drive or USB drive that is booting up in UEFI mode and you are trying to install to a hard drive that is not partitioned in GPT style (i.e. it has a Master Boot Record) the installer will probably stop and give you this error. You can go into the BIOS and have the boot device boot in the normal "non UEFI" style, or you could repartition the hard drive in the GUID style.

I hope this is the problem
 
Old 11-28-2012, 12:47 PM   #9
Basher52
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: .SE
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 234

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 8
First, how can I tell F17 to partition it using UUID? Can't think of a place where it asks for that(unless in a place by clicking a option I haven't checked out)

Oh that one, DOH! didn't think of it I just turned that off and I'll see what happens.
I Think it even was 'disabled' as default but why call it "UEFI/Legacy boot" as I've seen,
when I also saw this: "UEFI will also enable support for partitions greater than 2TB under GPT (guid partition table)."
and in here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GUID_Partition_Table
Quote:
...(Intel's proposed replacement for the PC BIOS)...
Using partitions greater then 2TB and to use GPT can't be called legacy as far as I think... or?
Ain't Win7 "new" enough to handle UEFI?
I KNOW Linux would be able to so why would there be a problem at all since 'ENABLE' will, as it says, just ENABLE it not FORCE it.

I'll be back when I tried this......

TIA though



UPDATE: Yep it's installing now

Last edited by Basher52; 11-28-2012 at 02:33 PM.
 
Old 11-28-2012, 03:58 PM   #10
snafflekid
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2012
Location: San Jose, CA USA
Distribution: Fedora 17
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: 0
Awesome! have fun with Fedora 17

There is other reasons to have a GPT style drive than just the 2TB limit.
If the BIOS is running in UEFI mode it will not boot up a device that has a MBR. The boot drive needs to be partitioned in GPT. I guess that the installer saw this and rejected the install. Windows 8 installs are running into this issue also.

Last edited by snafflekid; 11-28-2012 at 04:10 PM.
 
Old 11-28-2012, 07:36 PM   #11
Basher52
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: .SE
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 234

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by snafflekid View Post
Awesome! have fun with Fedora 17

There is other reasons to have a GPT style drive than just the 2TB limit.
If the BIOS is running in UEFI mode it will not boot up a device that has a MBR. The boot drive needs to be partitioned in GPT. I guess that the installer saw this and rejected the install. Windows 8 installs are running into this issue also.
OK, so it aint possible for BOTH MBR and UEFI at the same time, got it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by snafflekid View Post
Windows 8 installs are running into this issue also.
and that is that it can't handle UEFI at all or...??? didn't really get that part.
 
Old 11-29-2012, 02:06 PM   #12
snafflekid
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2012
Location: San Jose, CA USA
Distribution: Fedora 17
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: 0
Win 8 can read GPT drives, as can Win 7, Vista and later Linux distros. That is how they can access >2TB space on a drive. I am referring to data storage drives and not the boot drive.

The BIOS can be set to start up in "UEFI" or "Legacy BIOS" mode. If you try to boot from a hard drive that is MBR while your BIOS is set to UEFI, it will not work. UEFI mode booting also requires the boot drive to be GPT. I do not know how your BIOS got started in UEFI mode when you began the Fedora install. I have seen BIOS that give choices for how to boot from a USB thumb drive or optical drive in "UEFI" or "Legacy BIOS" mode.

There may be some exceptions to this rule, I am not an expert. There are some systems out there like Itanium processors that this might not apply.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung netbook NF210 Boot problems on dual install (Win7/Ubuntu) deetee99 Linux - Laptop and Netbook 4 01-24-2012 02:16 AM
Dualboot Ubuntu and Win7 on Ideapad joboy Linux - Laptop and Netbook 7 06-20-2011 09:00 PM
Problem with GRUB/WIn7/SRS4 Recovery partition Samsung N110 netbook __spc__ Linux - Laptop and Netbook 14 02-26-2011 04:59 AM
Cannot Create Extended Partition for Ubuntu/Swap-area after OSX/Win7 Dualboot Setup JPsHwayZe Linux - Newbie 15 01-27-2011 08:09 PM
dualboot win7 & linux schdvir Linux - General 4 12-29-2009 01:29 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration