LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook
User Name
Password
Linux - Laptop and Netbook Having a problem installing or configuring Linux on your laptop? Need help running Linux on your netbook? This forum is for you. This forum is for any topics relating to Linux and either traditional laptops or netbooks (such as the Asus EEE PC, Everex CloudBook or MSI Wind).

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2010, 12:24 PM   #1
hewsonism
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: 0
Dual Monitor on Thinkpad T400?


Hi all,

I've been trying for about two days to get this working.

Heres the setup:
Thinkpad T400 docked.

Currently I'm running with out a xorg.conf (letting Xorg detect and guess my set-up).

Code:
[hewsonism@lappie86 ~]$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1680 x 1050, maximum 1680 x 1680
DVI-0 connected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
   1680x1050      60.0 +   59.9  
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
   1280x960       60.0  
   1152x864       75.0  
   1024x768       75.0     70.1     60.0  
   832x624        74.6  
   800x600        72.2     75.0     60.3     56.2  
   640x480        75.0     72.8     66.7     59.9  
   720x400        70.1  
LVDS connected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
   1440x900       60.0 +   59.9  
   1280x854       59.9  
   1360x768       59.8  
   1280x800       59.8  
   1152x864       60.0  
   1280x720       59.9  
   1152x768       59.8  
   1024x768       60.0     59.9  
   800x600        60.3     59.9  
   640x480        59.9     59.4  
VGA-0 connected 1680x1050+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 474mm x 296mm
   1680x1050      60.0*+
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
   1152x864       75.0  
   1024x768       75.0     60.0  
   800x600        75.0     60.3  
   640x480        75.0     59.9  
   720x400        70.1
I want to use VGA-0 1680X1050 and DVI-0 1680x1050 with LVDS (the actual laptop display) disabled. I don't care if the two displays use a single Screen or they each have their own Screen.

Unfortunately I can't seem to accomplish this with xrandr. It creates a single Screen with a maximum of 1680x1680. I need a 3360x1050 virtual screen.
Code:
[hewsonism@lappie86 ~]$ xrandr --output DVI-0 --mode 1680x1050 --rate 60.0 --left-of VGA-0 --output VGA-0 --mode 1680x1050 --rate 60.0
xrandr: screen cannot be larger than 1680x1680 (desired size 3360x1050)
Heres my lsmod:
Code:
[hewsonism@lappie86 ~]$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
radeon                674135  0 
ttm                    49943  1 radeon
drm_kms_helper         29297  1 radeon
drm                   162471  3 radeon,ttm,drm_kms_helper
i2c_algo_bit            5028  1 radeon
rfcomm                 33421  6 
sco                     7885  2 
bridge                 45582  0 
stp                     1655  1 bridge
bnep                    9436  2 
l2cap                  30624  16 rfcomm,bnep
snd_hda_codec_conexant    22577  1 
arc4                    1153  2 
iwlagn                105566  0 
hid_microsoft           2647  0 
joydev                  8708  0 
snd_hda_intel          21877  8 
iwlcore               105922  1 iwlagn
snd_hda_codec          74201  2 snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               5412  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss            35308  0 
snd_mixer_oss          13746  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm                70662  5 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_dummy           1338  0 
snd_seq_oss            26726  0 
snd_seq_midi            4557  0 
snd_rawmidi            19056  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event      6003  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq                47263  6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
pcmcia                 33024  0 
snd_timer              19098  4 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device          5700  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
fbcon                  35102  71 
tileblit                2031  1 fbcon
font                    7557  1 fbcon
bitblit                 4707  1 fbcon
softcursor              1189  1 bitblit
ppdev                   5259  0 
usbhid                 36110  0 
hid                    67032  2 hid_microsoft,usbhid
mac80211              204922  2 iwlagn,iwlcore
thinkpad_acpi          68083  0 
led_class               2864  2 iwlcore,thinkpad_acpi
nvram                   6171  1 thinkpad_acpi
btusb                  10925  2 
bluetooth              49892  9 rfcomm,sco,bnep,l2cap,btusb
video                  17375  0 
output                  1871  1 video
intel_agp              24177  0 
fglrx                2092908  0 
vga16fb                11385  1 
yenta_socket           20408  1 
rsrc_nonstatic         10015  1 yenta_socket
pcmcia_core            32964  3 pcmcia,yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
parport_pc             25962  1 
lp                      7028  0 
psmouse                63245  0 
serio_raw               3978  0 
cfg80211              126485  3 iwlagn,iwlcore,mac80211
snd                    54148  25 snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device,thinkpad_acpi
vgastate                8961  1 vga16fb
agpgart                31724  4 ttm,drm,intel_agp,fglrx
parport                32635  3 ppdev,parport_pc,lp
soundcore               6620  1 snd
snd_page_alloc          7076  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
ohci1394               26950  0 
ieee1394               81181  1 ohci1394
e1000e                119856  0
Any thoughts?
 
Old 05-12-2010, 01:34 PM   #2
adamk75
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2006
Posts: 3,091

Rep: Reputation: 396Reputation: 396Reputation: 396Reputation: 396
You need to create an xorg.conf file with at least this section:

Code:
Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Videocard0"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
                Virtual 3360 1050
        EndSubSection
EndSection
You can probably leave the rest blank and Xorg will just detect it.

Adam
 
Old 05-12-2010, 05:19 PM   #3
hewsonism
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 10

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
adamk75,

Thanks for the response!

I did as you suggested. Now I have a different problem. The 2nd display is 840x1050 @60hz instead of 1680x1050 @60hz. =0/

xrandr says its 1680x1050; but visually its quite clear the resolution is wrong (also the monitor is reporting the 840x1050).

Do you think that 2 seperate Screens would work or am I running into a limitation of the ATI Technologies Inc Mobility Radeon HD 3400 Series card?

Code:
[hewsonism@lappie86 ~]$ xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode 1680x1050 --rate 60.0
[hewsonism@lappie86 ~]$ xrandr --output LVDS --off
[hewsonism@lappie86 ~]$ xrandr --output DVI-0 --mode 1680x1050 --rate 60.0 --left-of VGA-0
[hewsonism@lappie86 ~]$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 3360 x 1050, maximum 3360 x 1050
DVI-0 connected 1680x1050+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 474mm x 296mm
   1680x1050      60.0*+   59.9  
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
   1280x960       60.0  
   1152x864       75.0  
   1024x768       75.0     70.1     60.0  
   832x624        74.6  
   800x600        72.2     75.0     60.3     56.2  
   640x480        75.0     72.8     66.7     59.9  
   720x400        70.1  
LVDS connected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
   1440x900       60.0 +   59.9  
   1280x854       59.9  
   1360x768       59.8  
   1280x800       59.8  
   1152x864       60.0  
   1280x720       59.9  
   1152x768       59.8  
   1024x768       60.0     59.9  
   800x600        60.3     59.9  
   640x480        59.9     59.4  
VGA-0 connected 1680x1050+1680+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 474mm x 296mm
   1680x1050      60.0*+
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
   1152x864       75.0  
   1024x768       75.0     60.0  
   800x600        75.0     60.3  
   640x480        75.0     59.9  
   720x400        70.1
my lspci:
Code:
[scattaneo@lappie86 ~]$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev 07)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Graphics Port (rev 07)
00:03.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset MEI Controller (rev 07)
00:03.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset PT IDER Controller (rev 07)
00:03.3 Serial controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset AMT SOL Redirection (rev 07)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82567LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 03)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 93)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation ICH9M-E LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation ICH9M/M-E 2 port SATA IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Mobility Radeon HD 3400 Series
03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 5100 AGN [Shiloh] Network Connection
04:00.0 Memory controller: Intel Corporation Turbo Memory Controller (rev 11)
15:00.0 CardBus bridge: Ricoh Co Ltd RL5c476 II (rev ba)
15:00.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 04)
 
Old 05-12-2010, 05:53 PM   #4
hewsonism
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 10

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Solved!

w00t! I solved it.1. I realized I was using "readon" driver which i *think* is the open source driver; so I installed fglrx driver, then modified my xorg.conf to use that driver.

Here is my whole xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Videocard0"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Videocard0"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
                Virtual 3360 1050
        EndSubSection
EndSection
2. After that I realized that the new drivers meant new names for my displays; adjusted and ran these xrandr commands:
Code:
[hewsonism@lappie86 ~]$ xrandr --output DFP1 --mode 1680x1050 --rate 60.0
[hewsonism@lappie86 ~]$ xrandr --output LVDS --off
[hewsonism@lappie86 ~]$ xrandr --output CRT1 --mode 1680x1050 --rate 60.0 --right-of DFP1
That took *way* too long; but man am I glad I figured it out.

adamk75 thanks for pointing me in the right direction!!
 
  


Reply

Tags
dual monitor, t400


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinkpad T400 Graphics cards and fglrx 9.8 chickenlinux Linux - Hardware 1 08-27-2009 08:29 PM
Fedora 11, ThinkPad T400, Intel 5300 seems to drop connection a lot? Caldus Linux - Wireless Networking 4 07-09-2009 11:52 PM
fedora 10 64-bit on thinkpad t400 chickenlinux Linux - Software 1 06-29-2009 12:33 PM
Help getting compiz to run on a Lenovo thinkpad t400 (debian lenny) jamesmorlock Linux - Laptop and Netbook 1 06-25-2009 08:37 AM
Wireless driver for lenovo thinkpad t400 jamesmorlock Linux - Laptop and Netbook 2 05-21-2009 01:43 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration