LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2012, 08:42 PM   #1
weav
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: 0
Ubuntu Studio 12 on AMD A4-3400 & Asus F1A75-M


Hoping someone knows the trick to this...
I toasted my old mobo so went for a current one.
Got an Asus F1A75-M and an AMD A4-3400 which I'm reasonably sure is 64-but like pretty much all current CPUs.

Downloaded Ubuntu Studio 12 (Poison Penguin or whatever it's called) DVD and burned it, and it comes up with the language screen, and the Run Live / Install / test screen, but when I click on anything but memory-test, the screen goes dark.

I tried using System Rescue CD 2.8 which did much the same until I tried "High Res Framebuffer Console" and it came up with the usual intro and prompt.

I'm guessing that there's some boot option that I can give the Ubuntu Studio options screen that'll be similar; if anyone knows it I'd be most grateful for the magic word.
 
Old 07-23-2012, 03:28 PM   #2
jefro
Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 11,544

Rep: Reputation: 1405Reputation: 1405Reputation: 1405Reputation: 1405Reputation: 1405Reputation: 1405Reputation: 1405Reputation: 1405Reputation: 1405Reputation: 1405
I assume it is the integrated AMD video. I had to install to an A6 with generic video and then add in amd's driver. The A-series is not really normal.

Boot to safe mode usually does it and you have to add in driver before you reboot. There should be many forum posts on it either here or on the web.
 
  


Reply

Tags
amd, ubuntu 12.04


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Installing any linux on AMD A4-3400 box BusteR[PL] Linux - Hardware 14 08-23-2012 03:06 PM
ubuntu studio 8.04, slackware 12 & Realtek 8201CL PHY spamhippy Ubuntu 0 05-13-2008 07:06 AM
i386 or x86_64 on AMD 3400+? concoran Linux - Newbie 4 03-16-2008 01:29 AM
Pcchips M861g Amd 64 3400+ gimecoffee Linux - Hardware 3 05-29-2007 07:03 PM
Intel E-Edition vs amd 64 bit. 3400+ Asistoed Linux - Laptop and Netbook 10 11-30-2004 02:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration