Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?


  Search this Thread
Old 12-10-2003, 09:29 AM   #1
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Gentoo(Server) Ubuntu(desktop/laptop)
Posts: 63

Rep: Reputation: 15
Question opinion... scsi opticals vs. ide opticals

Hey, first off if this belongs elsewhere please close/move but I thought GH was appropriate.

I have a Lite-On 52-32-52 CDRW and a pioneer 16x dvd rom. I was wondering if selling these off for scsi versions was worth it In your opinion.

I think it's NOT worth it but would like to see other folk’s responses.

Also, the scsi drive I am looking at is either the yahama 16x8x32 or plextor 12x8x32 either is great and I have a few places I could pick either one up for a little more than both my drives combined.




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GRUB or LILO boot to SCSI drive on SCSI system w/ IDE card mkl838 Linux - General 1 03-06-2005 10:01 PM
removed SCSI from kernel. ide-scsi gone. xushi Slackware 6 01-04-2005 08:00 PM
bad dmesg output when using ide-scsi boot parameter for IDE CD/DVD-ROM Locura Slackware 7 09-29-2003 03:36 AM
use ide-scsi to emulate an ide disk as a scsi disk free_ok_man Linux - Newbie 1 07-01-2003 04:51 AM
ide CDRW problems under ide-scsi jwbrownuk Linux - Hardware 3 04-30-2003 01:08 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.

Main Menu
Write for LQ is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration