Linux - HardwareThis forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?
Welcome to LinuxQuestions.org, a friendly and active Linux Community.
You are currently viewing LQ as a guest. By joining our community you will have the ability to post topics, receive our newsletter, use the advanced search, subscribe to threads and access many other special features. Registration is quick, simple and absolutely free. Join our community today!
Note that registered members see fewer ads, and ContentLink is completely disabled once you log in.
Does anyone know how to remove a hardware configuration from SuSE? I have noticed that with SuSE 8.1 there are times when you despite removing a piece of hardware, SuSE still expects it to be there. For example, I had a drive on the system and I used the command “umount /drive_mount_point” to un mount the drive and then I turned the system off and removed the drive. Once I tried turning it back on, the system still expected the drive to be there. The only way I was able to get SuSE to accept the drive had been removed was to manually edit the fstab file and comment out the entry for the drive.
Here is the problem I am having now.
This seems to be happening again. I have an adaptec 29160 scsi card that for some reason the system decided it wouldn’t load the aci7xxx.o module and have a kernel panic. So I am kind or stuck. I have gone into the system via the install CD and edited the sysconfig settings using Yast2 to remove the loading of aic7xxx. I then removed the card from the machine. The problem is that SuSE 8.1 is still looking for the card even though it is no longer there. I am wondering if this is something similar to the problem with the drive mentioned above. If so, how can I manually edit files to stop SuSE from attempting to load a module that is no longer needed for a card that is no longer there? What files would I edit and what should I remove?
One problem I had when I ran SuSE was that Yast2 had a habit of overwriting some, but not all changes I had made manually. If I remember correctly there is an option in Yast2 to disable this behavior. You could re-enable the overwrite after a reboot.