LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - General
User Name
Password
Linux - General This Linux forum is for general Linux questions and discussion.
If it is Linux Related and doesn't seem to fit in any other forum then this is the place.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2010, 07:24 AM   #1
browny_amiga
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2001
Location: /mnt/UNV/Mlkway/Earth/USA/California/Silicon Valley
Distribution: Kubuntu 10.04, Debian Squeeze, Windoze 7
Posts: 512

Rep: Reputation: 34
video preview browser


Hi

I am looking for a program that I have not found so far.
A way to have an overview over videos, much like thumbnails in pictures, but with a video preview, meaning that you have 10 movies in little thumbnails, but they are showing the movie, so you can tell what it is.

COuld it be that this does not exist yet? I mean there must be a way to have an overview like this over a large collection of media (video).

If it does not exist, I was thinking about how to go about creating this. I would do it in python, since that is what I know and use the VLC player. I know that it has a embed function that could be used for this.
Does anybody have pointers and such how to go about this?

Resource wise it should not be a problem, you just need a very powerful machine and the videos of course cannot be all cached fully, that would not work.
 
Old 04-09-2010, 11:24 AM   #2
deskt0plinux
Member
 
Registered: May 2008
Distribution: ubuntu debian knoppix centos puppy
Posts: 31
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1
I am not sure, but have you tried Miro ? It handles a large number of videos and playlists. Video previews, not sure. Maybe Miro allows plugins and so there is one or you can write one. If you find something, please post it here if possible.
TIA.
 
Old 04-09-2010, 07:13 PM   #3
browny_amiga
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2001
Location: /mnt/UNV/Mlkway/Earth/USA/California/Silicon Valley
Distribution: Kubuntu 10.04, Debian Squeeze, Windoze 7
Posts: 512

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 34
Miro does not provide that functionality unfortunately. I have no idea how to write plugins for it.

You have to image it like a video wall, in a TV studio, where they show all the channels at once. I will keep looking further.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gwenview video preview STARHARVEST Linux - Software 0 05-09-2008 08:41 PM
LXer: Video: Summit 2008 preview LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 03-13-2008 11:50 PM
LXer: Microsoft's IE7 browser preview fails to impress LXer Syndicated Linux News 1 02-12-2006 11:43 AM
Video preview items not showing in KDE Meriadoc Linux - General 1 03-29-2005 09:53 PM
How to preview Audio and Video in KDE? _UnPrEdictAbLe_ Linux - Software 4 09-03-2004 05:00 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration