That did it. It's funny, I shutdown once without closing everything down like I usually do. I boot up again and see the old programs load up and wonder what's going on. When I log out I see that "Save session ..." option and uncheck it to make the problem go away and what I get? The old desktop with all those old programs loading up. But the Save Session option is off ... !
The thing is possessed ... by me.