LinuxQuestions.org

LinuxQuestions.org (/questions/)
-   Linux - General (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-general-1/)
-   -   KDE Konqueror View Mode Icons (Image Preview/Tree View) (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-general-1/kde-konqueror-view-mode-icons-image-preview-tree-view-433560/)

sadarax 04-10-2006 12:07 AM

KDE Konqueror View Mode Icons (Image Preview/Tree View) [Fixed]
 
Hello. I just upgraded to KDE 3.5.2, and now I have a problem using Image Preview mode (and other modes too). Previously under KDE 3.4.3, I had installed Gwenview 1.2.0, which worked just fine. There was a toolbar icon I could click that would switch me into "Image Preview Mode" and there was also a "Tree View" icon I could click to change back.

I can no longer fine these two icons to add them to my Konqueror bars. I now have Gwenview 1.3.1, but I know it works with this feature (because I tried it back in KDE 3.4.3). Can anyone tell me how to enable these icons in KDE 3.5.2 so that I can use them again in my toolbar? Thank you.

Update/Edit: I have compared my settings with KDE 3.4.3 Konqueror, and the thing that is different is that I had an item called 'ActionList: viewmode_toolbar" on my main bar. The descript the toolbar configuration window gives me is "This is a dynamic list of actions. You can move it, but if you remove it you won't be able to re-add it." So, either I removed it accidently or it has been removed for me (its possible my distro removed it, I am using Ubuntu Dapper Testing Flight 6). Any suggestions?

operator10001 04-10-2006 10:13 AM

why not just make the icons and put them into place?

sadarax 04-10-2006 10:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by operator10001
why not just make the icons and put them into place?

I have no idea how to add an icon/action to the taskbar. When I click configure on the mainbar, I am just given a list of icons I can add or remove, there is no ability to create a custom item and the items that I want are no on the list.

operator10001 04-11-2006 10:07 AM

sure there is, each flavor is different in details though. kde is kde anywhere. rightclick on an empty space. choose make icon. manipulate it from there until it's the way you want it. then move it into the menu where you want it. hope this helps.
operator

sadarax 04-13-2006 10:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by operator10001
sure there is, each flavor is different in details though. kde is kde anywhere. rightclick on an empty space. choose make icon. manipulate it from there until it's the way you want it. then move it into the menu where you want it. hope this helps.
operator

Have you actually tried and successfully done this? You probably have not because I cannot find a way to do this, and its the same with a bunch of people on the Ubuntu forum. No one I have talked to can find a solution to this problem, and you proposed solution does not work

operator10001 04-16-2006 11:19 PM

it works on the sneaky desktop in a similar way. i forgot how to do it with the cli, but, i have done it before.
operator

sadarax 04-22-2006 06:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by operator10001
it works on the sneaky desktop in a similar way. i forgot how to do it with the cli, but, i have done it before.
operator

As I suspected, the problem is completely unique to the Ubuntu Dapper branch. I have no idea how it happened, but I have not found a solution yet. Someone removed this option from the toolbar menu, and the warning that KDE gives you is "if you removes this you will not be able to get it back" so I have no idea how to fix the problem.

sadarax 06-27-2006 12:45 PM

The solution
 
I got this from the Ubuntu bug tracker...

Try this:

1. backup your ~/.kde/share/apps/konq-kubuntu.rc file
2. open ~/.kde/share/apps/konqueror/konq-kubuntu.rc for editing
3. find the entry for the toolbar you want to add it to (for example 'mainToolBar')
4. add line:
<ActionList name="viewmode_toolbar" />
5. save

That 'should' do it.

Here's an example of the entry (from my .rc file)
Quote
<ToolBar newline="true" noMerge="1" name="mainToolBar" fullWidth="true" >
<text>Main Toolbar</text>
<Action name="print" />
<WeakSeparator/>
<Merge/>
<ActionList name="viewmode_toolbar" />
<ActionList name="fullscreen" />
<WeakSeparator/>
</ToolBar>


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.