Linux - GeneralThis Linux forum is for general Linux questions and discussion.
If it is Linux Related and doesn't seem to fit in any other forum then this is the place.
Notices
Welcome to LinuxQuestions.org, a friendly and active Linux Community.
You are currently viewing LQ as a guest. By joining our community you will have the ability to post topics, receive our newsletter, use the advanced search, subscribe to threads and access many other special features. Registration is quick, simple and absolutely free. Join our community today!
Note that registered members see fewer ads, and ContentLink is completely disabled once you log in.
One of our users tried to use his PDA to access mail from our mail server. BUt for some reason, when he tried to send mail, it says ""CLIENT HOST BLOCKED USING relays.ordb.org"
Anyone has any idea what is wrong? Is this relay thingi the one about blocking spam?
It sounds like your mail server is using one of the realtime blackhole lists to limit the boxes that can send mail. Have you checked the config of your mail server?
Thanks for your reply. The problem only happen with one user and he is using PDA to send. Everything works fine from a normal computer.
The guy use this GPRS internet supplied by a telecommunication company. he tried to configure his mail client software to use our company mail server and then tried again with the ISP mail server. Both couldn't allow him to send mail but both allow him to receive mails. Its weird.....
It is unlikely the blackhole list is blocking my company mail server because that is ok whn send from other our home or ffrom our company. The only possiblity is that the external address supplied by the GPRS ISP has been blocked by the blackhole list.....
maybe the external mail address supplied by the GPRS ISP got something wrong....I also not sure..
The only possiblity is that the external address supplied by the GPRS ISP has been blocked by the blackhole list
That sounds like what is happening - are you using sendmail? I'm not sure if the allow list (access db) overrides the deny list, but you may be able to add the IP address range he gets to your access db so he can send.
thanks for your help. I just figured out the problem. Yes you are right, the sender's mail server is in the list under
relays.ordb.org & list.dsbl.org.
I am using postfix, so I commented the two list, by doing that it enables all the previously blocked mails to come in.
However, isn't that a crappy solution? since I added those list initially to make use of the database to block spam mails, now i have to uncomment it just because one of the mail server blacklisted there is unable to send to my mail server.
It seems to me the relays.ordb.org and list.dsbl.org has wrongly blocked the address.
Reason: Service unavailable; Client host [203.82.64.132] blocked
using relays.ordb.org; This mail was handled by an open relay - please
visit <http://ORDB.org/lookup/?host=203.82.64.132>
Does he have his own ISP though? If he does and gets an error sending mail through them, is it the same error? If it's a different error it may be easier to resolve that so he's not sending mail through your server which means you can leave the ordb rules in place.
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing
Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute
content, let us know.