LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions
User Name
Password
Linux - Distributions This forum is for Distribution specific questions.
Red Hat, Slackware, Debian, Novell, LFS, Mandriva, Ubuntu, Fedora - the list goes on and on...

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Search this Thread
Old 05-30-2013, 08:16 AM   #1
davidwillis
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Posts: 40

Rep: Reputation: 16
geting reviews listed on distrowatch


I hope this is the correct section to put this. Anyway, I have been trying out a lot of linux distributions, and decided to write reviews on them when I do. However I can not seem to get my reviews listed on distrowatch. I do not get a response back from distro@distrowatch.com. I have sent them a few e-mails over the last 3 weeks, and nothing. I also decided to comment on there comment section and ask how to get my review listed. But my comments kept getting deleted, and now my ip address is blocked.

So I was wondering if anyone had any advice on how to contact them, or why they would not be replying to me? Maybe my reviews are not good enough for them (they are short, and I am not a professional writer), but why would they not reply back and tell me?

Thanks

p.s. If you would like to see my reviews they are here:
http://linux.westhostsite.com/manjaro-0-8-5-kde/
http://linux.westhostsite.com/opensuse-12-3/
 
Old 05-30-2013, 04:25 PM   #2
Captain Pinkeye
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2012
Location: The Czech Republic
Posts: 162

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
No idea, perhaps they're just too busy, or maybe they have too many people trying to get their reviews listed, i don't know.

But why do you want to get yours listed on DW? You have only 2 reviews. Be patient, let it be at least 20, get visible via google, people will come and if your articles will be any good, they will come again and then you won't need DW. ( And then they will get you listed )

But please, don't ever use liveCD for review, anyone does that and noone really cares about such 'reviews'. Make a partition and install on iron. Better yet, try to actually use it. For example, openSUSE 12.3 would be about 4-5/10 from me and just because it's really nice, fast and polished. But it has this fun bug which causes memory leak in X while copying large (100GB) amount of data, eventually crashing X. This is severe structural damage in my dictionary and reason to instantly dump the distro. Point is, you won't notice this in Virtualbox, you have to use it.
 
Old 05-31-2013, 12:38 AM   #3
davidwillis
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Posts: 40

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 16
Thanks for the reply, and the advice. My reviews are from actual installs that I test for several weeks to months before I do a review (running as the only operating system on my computer). I have been running openSUSE 12.3 for several months on my main machine, and have not noticed any memory leak. In my screenshot, you will notice it had been up for 15 days without a shutdown or reboot. However I have to admit, I have not transferred many 100 GB files, that is just not something I do very often.

I did notice on my test of Manjaro 0.8.5 that my memory usage did climb as the days went on, and I have to reboot it about once a week (I mentioned that in my article).

I agree, a virtual box, or livecd review is useless, and I would never do one of those. I may show some screenshots of ones, but would never do a review until I have tested it on a real machine with a full install.

Again, thanks for your advice.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: DistroWatch Weekly: Look at PC-BSD 1.5, PCe17OS, Mining DistroWatch logs LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 03-17-2008 06:50 AM
LXer: DistroWatch Weekly: First look at PC-BSD 1.4, Mandriva closes Club, DistroWatch LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 10-01-2007 05:40 AM
LXer: DistroWatch Weekly: TrueBSD and gNewSense mini-reviews, Mandriva development updates, elpcix live CD LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 01-08-2007 04:21 AM
LXer: DistroWatch Weekly: Edgy Eft, Fedora reviews, CCux Linux, Xubuntu LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 04-24-2006 05:54 AM
LXer: DistroWatch Weekly: DistroWatch meets Mark Shuttleworth LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 02-20-2006 03:16 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration