LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop
User Name
Password
Linux - Desktop This forum is for the discussion of all Linux Software used in a desktop context.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2007, 08:04 PM   #1
vimico
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu
Posts: 118

Rep: Reputation: 15
Krusader under Gnome - no preview


I've upgraded to Ubuntu Edgy (new install) and I use the default desktop (Gnome).

I very much like Krusader - yes, I know, it's a KDE program, but it works fine under Gnome as well, in general.

On my previous Ubuntu install I was able to display a preview of an image (by right-clicking the file and selecting "preview").
Similarly, if I copied a picture and a picture with the same name was already present in the destination folder, a requester popped up showing small thumbnails of the two images.

At the moment, I don't get a preview and those thumbnails are replaced by a standard icons.

Did I miss a config option? Or is a library missing?

Last edited by vimico; 01-09-2007 at 08:19 PM.
 
Old 01-09-2007, 08:58 PM   #2
Brian1
Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Seymour, Indiana
Distribution: Distribution: RHEL 5 with Pieces of this and that. Kernel 2.6.23.1, KDE 3.5.8 and KDE 4.0 beta, Plu
Posts: 5,700

Rep: Reputation: 61
From the quick searching I did Krusader is tied deeply into KDE. It uses an app called krviewer. FOund this link that mentions this. http://www.linuxtoday.com/news_story...03-26-RV-KE-SW

Also went over to the developers site to check for faqs or forums. Seen you made a post over there on their forum site. That is a good place to get help on your question. Did you search the krusader forum on the subject?

Currently searching my drive to see if it is an external app called krviewer. Then I will see which package installed it. Current not an external viewer from the krusader package. So it may be built in app but requires KDE libs to function.
Well the results are in no file by that name. So at a lost there.

Does you system contain the KDE libriares?

One last thought is maybe the developer could possible create a patch that will use a different viewer other than krviewer.

No idea on your other question about thumbnails. Don't quite understand the question.

Brian
 
Old 01-10-2007, 06:33 AM   #3
vimico
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu
Posts: 118

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Yes, I did search the forums, and google... but this doesn't seem to be a priority problem :-)

Yes, I know that krusader tied into the KDE libraries, and I don't expect the KDE desktop functions to work (e.g. connections to other KDE programs, connections to other KDE frameworks, communication between KDE aps, etc.).

A function that I really liked was: If I copy a picture (cat.jpg), and a file named cat.jpg already exists in the destination folder, a window popped up, that showed a small thumbnail of both pictures. The window also has the usual overwrite and rename buttons.
 
Old 01-10-2007, 12:49 PM   #4
vimico
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu
Posts: 118

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
The "preview" problem has been partially solved.

The previews that are available via the right mouse button reappeared after I installed Konqueror. The error message
Code:
servicetype ThumbCreator not found
does not appear any more, when krusader is started from the command line.

The second part (thumbnails of pictures in the overwrite dialog) is still unresolved.
 
  


Reply

Tags
gnome, krusader, preview


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone use Krusader? DoctorWynn Linux - Software 5 05-27-2006 09:53 PM
Gnome - no sound preview on pointer over icon Gibsonist Linux - General 0 04-16-2006 09:27 AM
gnome-commander/krusader undefined symbol landroni Linux - Software 1 05-18-2005 03:47 PM
Krusader wonderpun Linux - Software 5 04-13-2005 08:35 AM
audio preview with gnome (nautilus) and i810 ??? hulk1st Linux - Software 3 10-18-2003 08:54 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration