LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop
User Name
Password
Linux - Desktop This forum is for the discussion of all Linux Software used in a desktop context.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2006, 05:47 AM   #1
Acidx
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: 0
Smile jpg files has no preview in file tips, png does.


ubuntu dapper, kde.
HI,
at first when i just installed ubuntu i could place the mouse cursor over a jpg file on the desktop and get a preview of the image. now i dont allthough it works fine for png files.
the option the get a preview in file tips in konqueror is checked. and well.. i have no idea what is the problem.
any ideas?
thnx
 
Old 10-15-2006, 01:52 PM   #2
Mountain Man
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 11.10 (desktop), lubuntu 11.10 (netbook)
Posts: 73

Rep: Reputation: 15
I had the same problem and found this post while looking for the answer. I ended up figuring this out so I thought I'd post the answer here for anyone else who searches on this question. This is what worked for me:

Go to Settings/Configure Konqueror
Under Previews & Meta Data, increase the "Maximum File Size" to something larger than your images (3 MB in my case).
You may have to go to View/View Mode and toggle to text view and then back to icon view to get it to refresh and show the previews.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting .png to .jpg GtkUser Linux - Software 9 04-17-2007 02:04 PM
Convert move frames (avi/dvi/etc) to images(png/jpg/etc) 3saul Linux - Software 1 03-05-2006 09:29 PM
how to show phtos(.jpg,.png etc) using java pranith Programming 1 01-08-2005 12:04 PM
CMD line tool for PDF -> HTML or JPG/PNG/GIF ilhbutshm Linux - Software 5 10-23-2004 04:18 AM
pnp to png or jpg illtbagu Linux - Newbie 1 01-26-2003 03:08 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration