Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop
User Name
Linux - Desktop This forum is for the discussion of all Linux Software used in a desktop context.


  Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2006, 05:47 AM   #1
LQ Newbie
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: 0
Smile jpg files has no preview in file tips, png does.

ubuntu dapper, kde.
at first when i just installed ubuntu i could place the mouse cursor over a jpg file on the desktop and get a preview of the image. now i dont allthough it works fine for png files.
the option the get a preview in file tips in konqueror is checked. and well.. i have no idea what is the problem.
any ideas?
Old 10-15-2006, 01:52 PM   #2
Mountain Man
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 11.10 (desktop), lubuntu 11.10 (netbook)
Posts: 73

Rep: Reputation: 15
I had the same problem and found this post while looking for the answer. I ended up figuring this out so I thought I'd post the answer here for anyone else who searches on this question. This is what worked for me:

Go to Settings/Configure Konqueror
Under Previews & Meta Data, increase the "Maximum File Size" to something larger than your images (3 MB in my case).
You may have to go to View/View Mode and toggle to text view and then back to icon view to get it to refresh and show the previews.


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting .png to .jpg GtkUser Linux - Software 9 04-17-2007 02:04 PM
Convert move frames (avi/dvi/etc) to images(png/jpg/etc) 3saul Linux - Software 1 03-05-2006 09:29 PM
how to show phtos(.jpg,.png etc) using java pranith Programming 1 01-08-2005 12:04 PM
CMD line tool for PDF -> HTML or JPG/PNG/GIF ilhbutshm Linux - Software 5 10-23-2004 04:18 AM
pnp to png or jpg illtbagu Linux - Newbie 1 01-26-2003 03:08 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.

Main Menu
Write for LQ is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration