LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > General
User Name
Password
General This forum is for non-technical general discussion which can include both Linux and non-Linux topics. Have fun!

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 11-04-2007, 08:28 PM   #16
SlowCoder
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Southeast, U.S.A.
Distribution: Fedora (Desktop), CentOS (Server), Knoppix (Diags)
Posts: 934

Rep: Reputation: 38

Quote:
Originally Posted by masonm View Post
Two tin cans, some kite string, an abacus, and a hamster in a wheel to provide power.
Haha! Wasn't there another thread not too long ago where some guy had about the same specifications?

But seriously ...

- P4 3.4GHz
- 2GB dual-channel RAM (533NHz)
- 250GB SATA 3Gb hard drive
- Onboard Intel 945 video (don't play games on this one, but Beryl works nicely)
- Samsung DVD burner

Pretty much middle of the line. Nothing special here. Budget home build, $350, 18 months ago.
 
Old 11-05-2007, 07:14 AM   #17
brianL
LQ 5k Club
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Oldham, Lancs, England
Distribution: Slackware & Slackware64 14.1
Posts: 7,139
Blog Entries: 52

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Mason
Get your hamster on steroids for faster boot-up time. You might need to reinforce the wheel.
 
Old 05-06-2010, 07:01 PM   #18
Kenny_Strawn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Location: /usa/ca/orange_county/lake_forest
Distribution: ArchBang, Google Android 2.1 + Motoblur (on Motortola Flipside), Google Chrome OS (on Cr-48)
Posts: 1,791
Blog Entries: 62

Rep: Reputation: 55
Processor: AMD Phenom X4 9750 @ 2.4GHz
RAM: Kingston KVR667D2N5/2G
Graphics card: Asus EAH4350 Silent, overclocked
Motherboard: ECS A770M-A
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB
PSU: Antec EarthWatts 500W
Case: Antec Sonata III
Network adapter: Linksys WMP600N Wireless N network adapter with Dual-Band
Sound card: Creative SoundBlaster Audigy SE
Networked printer: HP Officejet Pro 8500 Premier
Operating System: Ubuntu 10.04 LTS
 
Old 05-06-2010, 07:27 PM   #19
smeezekitty
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Location: Washington U.S.
Distribution: M$ Windows / Debian / Ubuntu / DSL / many others
Posts: 2,234

Rep: Reputation: 189Reputation: 189
Nice 3 year bump
RAM = 2GB
Graphics = onboard 'something'
Processor=2GHz dual core
Sound=On board
Pretty basic.
 
Old 05-06-2010, 07:54 PM   #20
Jeebizz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 14.1 64-bit with multilib
Posts: 2,092

Rep: Reputation: 222Reputation: 222Reputation: 222
PFFF! I got you ALL beat.
Code:
Processor:  AMD K6-2 450mhz
Memory:     448MB SDRAM
Hard Drive: 20GB Western Digital
Graphics:   ATI All-In-Wonder 7500 64MB-RAM
Sound:      Onboard ViaTech sound
Lan:        100MBit RealTek PCI Lan Card
Lets see anyone go any lower: "Its digital-limbo time. How low(slow) can you go?"

I gues it is true. Only a Linux user would be proud of how slow their machines are.
 
Old 05-06-2010, 08:00 PM   #21
smeezekitty
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Location: Washington U.S.
Distribution: M$ Windows / Debian / Ubuntu / DSL / many others
Posts: 2,234

Rep: Reputation: 189Reputation: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeebizz View Post
PFFF! I got you ALL beat.
Code:
Processor:  AMD K6-2 450mhz
Memory:     448MB SDRAM
Hard Drive: 20GB Western Digital
Graphics:   ATI All-In-Wonder 7500 64MB-RAM
Sound:      Onboard ViaTech sound
Lan:        100MBit RealTek PCI Lan Card
Lets see anyone go any lower: "Its digital-limbo time. How low(slow) can you go?"

I gues it is true. Only a Linux user would be proud of how slow their machines are.
Beat you on my 486 that runs command line linux (and fairly fast)!
Processor: Intel 485 33mhz
Memory: 12MB
Hard Drive: 500MB
Graphics: 128K EGA (640x350mono graphics or 80x25 3 gray text)
Sound: Sound Blaster compat
No networking.
 
Old 05-06-2010, 09:05 PM   #22
Jeebizz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 14.1 64-bit with multilib
Posts: 2,092

Rep: Reputation: 222Reputation: 222Reputation: 222
Impressive! Lets see someone go lower.
 
Old 05-06-2010, 09:34 PM   #23
Mr-Bisquit
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Distribution: FreeBSD, OpenBSD, NetBSD, Debian, Fedora
Posts: 770
Blog Entries: 52

Rep: Reputation: 68
Project machine: G3 Blue & White, Motorola 750 revision 2.2, 400 MHz 386M RAM, 60G ATA disk, FreeBSD 9.0 SNAPSHOT. Ports are customized. Development versions of Firefox and libxul being used.

Gateway m275, 1280M RAM, default hardware. Celeron M CPU 2.00 GHz.
FreeBSD 8.0, Fedora 12.

Dell Dimension 300, DEfault hardware. AMDtek deec type network card added, Fedora 6 installed to erase old Windows software. 786M RAM, 40G hard disk.

Dell Dimension 300, OpenBSD 4.6 i386, FreeBSD 8.0 i386, DEbian Lenny 5.0.4 i386. 1280M RAM. 250/238G hard disk, Soundblaster live emul10k.

Both Dimensions have P4/Xeon 2.8GHZ processors.

Gateway 275M 12G hard disk 256M RAM Debian Lenny 5.0.4. Celeron M 1.50m GHz

Last edited by Mr-Bisquit; 05-06-2010 at 09:36 PM.
 
Old 05-06-2010, 09:35 PM   #24
brianL
LQ 5k Club
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Oldham, Lancs, England
Distribution: Slackware & Slackware64 14.1
Posts: 7,139
Blog Entries: 52

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Sorry, I've gone higher since my previous post:
Processor: AMD Athlon64 X2 5200+, 2.8 GHz
RAM: 4 GB
Motherboard: ASRock N61P-S
Graphics (integrated): NVidia 6150SE/nForce 430, 256 MB
HDD: 160 GB (think it's an Hitachi?)
Printer: HP Deskjet D4260
Keyboard: Logitech Illuminated
Mouse: cheap Chinese wired optical
Speakers: Logitech X230
Modem/Router: Netgear DG834G

Last edited by brianL; 05-06-2010 at 09:38 PM.
 
Old 05-06-2010, 09:36 PM   #25
smeezekitty
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Location: Washington U.S.
Distribution: M$ Windows / Debian / Ubuntu / DSL / many others
Posts: 2,234

Rep: Reputation: 189Reputation: 189
Do broken computers count? otherwise thats the best i got.
 
Old 05-06-2010, 09:43 PM   #26
Mr-Bisquit
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Distribution: FreeBSD, OpenBSD, NetBSD, Debian, Fedora
Posts: 770
Blog Entries: 52

Rep: Reputation: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by smeezekitty View Post
Do broken computers count? otherwise thats the best i got.
I use a sempron 3400+ and a pavilion 8XX for spare parts.

Do you have enough spare parts to make a working machine?

Last edited by Mr-Bisquit; 05-06-2010 at 09:46 PM.
 
Old 05-06-2010, 09:48 PM   #27
smeezekitty
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Location: Washington U.S.
Distribution: M$ Windows / Debian / Ubuntu / DSL / many others
Posts: 2,234

Rep: Reputation: 189Reputation: 189
Taat was @ JeeBiz.
 
Old 05-06-2010, 10:04 PM   #28
exvor
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Distribution: LFS-Version SVN-20091202, Arch 2009.08
Posts: 1,496

Rep: Reputation: 68
I have a whole garage filled with old motherboards hard drives cdroms and cases and such. I have enough stuff to make like 20 computers. All this stuff is not actually mine tho, only I have access to it and can take anything I want since the owner sees it as taking up space. I have a grip of old mobos for 486 and slot Pentium cpus.

My main computer is a custom built machine
Asus MOBO mx350 or something or other
AMD phenom black edition quad core CPU 2.3ghz i think
2gb ram
500 and 300 gig harddrives
Nvidia 8800GTX card
Soundblaster xfi <-- yes ive actually got this to work at one point
LG dvd writer

Im not at home right now otherwise I would be better with some of these numbers.

I also have a netbook with LFS, a atom cpu system for a NAS and server, and 2 other computers one is for school work and the other is as a DVR that used to be a flash drive raid system running gentoo.
 
Old 05-06-2010, 10:06 PM   #29
Mr-Bisquit
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Distribution: FreeBSD, OpenBSD, NetBSD, Debian, Fedora
Posts: 770
Blog Entries: 52

Rep: Reputation: 68
oh

apologies
 
Old 05-06-2010, 11:49 PM   #30
MrCode
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 864
Blog Entries: 31

Rep: Reputation: 148Reputation: 148
This machine (archie):
  • CPU: IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 @ 2.8 GHz
  • RAM: 256 MiB
  • GPU: Intel 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller (amazingly, this actually handles Compiz pretty well )
  • HDD: 40GiB Maxtor IDE
  • Audio: Intel AC'97 Audio Controller

^ Sometimes it amazes me how well I've been able to get this machine set up with such limited resources...

My Ubuntu machine (linuxbox):
  • CPU: IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 @ 2.66 GHz
  • RAM: 1.5 GiB
  • GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT w/ 512 MiB VRAM (as expected, Compiz is smooth as butter w/ the proprietary drivers )
  • HDD: 320GiB WDC SATA; 40GiB Maxtor IDE; 160GiB Maxtor USB External
  • Audio: Intel AC'97 Audio Controller

Last edited by MrCode; 05-06-2010 at 11:56 PM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
finding system specs mbreith Linux - Newbie 2 03-22-2006 04:12 AM
Blazing System Specs floppywhopper General 8 04-29-2005 06:03 PM
super samba thread tendaas Linux - Newbie 1 09-15-2004 04:41 PM
How can I find out my system specs? blueturtle Linux - Newbie 1 08-11-2004 10:04 AM
System specs? slightcrazed LQ Suggestions & Feedback 2 01-22-2004 10:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration