LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > General
User Name
Password
General This forum is for non-technical general discussion which can include both Linux and non-Linux topics. Have fun!

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 11-02-2007, 10:32 AM   #1
lamar_air
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Posts: 37

Rep: Reputation: 15
Arrow System Specs Super Thread


What are your systems specs?

From minimal configurations to maxed out leading edge systems what are you running...

.

.
 
Old 11-02-2007, 11:20 AM   #2
PatrickMay16
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: London, England.
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.04 "Feisty Fawn"
Posts: 55

Rep: Reputation: 16
OH MAN yeeeeaaaah! Come on, let's do this. I'm up to this challenge.

Processor: Opteron 175 for socket 939, dual core, stock 2200MHz (clocked to 2500MHz).
Memory: 1.5 GB
Disks: 1x 80GB maxtor, 1x 120GB maxtor
Video board: NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GS
Motharboard: Abit AV8


I got this computer in June of 2005. Since then, it has had many parts swapped out for newer and faster parts. I think now, I've upgraded it as much as is reasonable. The next upgrades, if any, would be quieter cooling or maybe a better case.
 
Old 11-02-2007, 02:23 PM   #3
lamar_air
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Posts: 37

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Compaq presario 2175 notebook
Processor: AMD Athlon XP 2400+ (1.8GHz)
Memory: 512 DDR266 RAM
Harddrives: 80Gb 5400rpm Toshiba HDD
Video: Ati Mobility Radeon integrated
 
Old 11-03-2007, 07:38 AM   #4
jimmy512
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Location: London
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 183

Rep: Reputation: 31
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3800 Socket 939
Memory: 512MB DDR SDRAM
Hard Disk: 120GB Hitachi + 40GB Maxtor
Video: Radeon X1600 (Drivers don't work though )
Mobo: DFI Infinity NF4
CD/DVD: Some LG Thing
PSU: El-Cheapo Colorsit Job

It isn't top of the range, but is easily powerful enough for the tasks I want to do.
 
Old 11-03-2007, 12:51 PM   #5
jay73
Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Location: Belgium
Distribution: Ubuntu 11.04, Debian testing
Posts: 5,019

Rep: Reputation: 130Reputation: 130
jimmy, are you sure that those drivers aren't working? The thing is that I had one of those cards before I turned nvidia and, yes, ATI is harder to configure but other than that, these cards should still work (usually - but not always) fine. If I remember correctly, I had to use the fglrx driver from sid with Lenny. On Etch there shouldn't be any problem at all. Have you searched the net for a how-to?
 
Old 11-03-2007, 01:14 PM   #6
jimmy512
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Location: London
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 183

Rep: Reputation: 31
I have had the driver working before on linux, and I think this problem might be caused by something to do with teething problems with the 8.42 driver in debian sid and amd64. I will probably start a new thread asking for help if I cant find a solution. Anyway, lets try to keep this thread on topic, eh?
 
Old 11-03-2007, 01:58 PM   #7
hacker supreme
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Location: As far away from my username as possible
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 259
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 30
Specs

Abit NF95 Mobo
AMD Athlon64 3500+ Socket 939 @ 2210MHz
512MB Elixir DDR2-800
80GB Seagate Barracuda PATA
Generic* Samsung CD/DVD+/- RW PATA
GeForce 7300LE (using x86-100.14.19 drivers)
Random 400W Colorsit PSU


* Translation: I can't remember what it is
 
Old 11-03-2007, 02:37 PM   #8
truthfatal
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Distribution: Raspbian, Debian, Slackware, OS X
Posts: 443
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 32
(Acer Aspire 5100)
Radeon Xpress 1100
HDA ATI SB Sound
1GiB DDR2 RAM
120 GiB HDD
AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2, 1.6GHz/per core

If I recall correctly...
 
Old 11-03-2007, 07:25 PM   #9
Hitboxx
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Location: India
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 1,562
Blog Entries: 3

Rep: Reputation: 51
I carry the specs all through LQ, see sig ^^

Edit: And BTW, where is the thread starter's own specs? ...(reg 2004 yet only 36 posts )

Note to mods: No smileys on my reply dashboard

Last edited by Hitboxx; 11-03-2007 at 07:29 PM.
 
Old 11-03-2007, 09:47 PM   #10
PatrickMay16
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: London, England.
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.04 "Feisty Fawn"
Posts: 55

Rep: Reputation: 16
Shrikant. Why have you got such a powerful CPU, yet such an old video card? I guess you don't game so much?
 
Old 11-03-2007, 09:55 PM   #11
Hitboxx
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Location: India
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 1,562
Blog Entries: 3

Rep: Reputation: 51
What do you perceive as old Patrick? This baby is the equivalent of 7600gtx and still packs a lot of punch. Yes I do game very much but my main field of work is multimedia, so instead of a gaming card, I got a graphics card.
 
Old 11-03-2007, 10:10 PM   #12
PatrickMay16
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: London, England.
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.04 "Feisty Fawn"
Posts: 55

Rep: Reputation: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by shrikant.odugoudar View Post
What do you perceive as old Patrick? This baby is the equivalent of 7600gtx and still packs a lot of punch. Yes I do game very much but my main field of work is multimedia, so instead of a gaming card, I got a graphics card.
Ah, I get you. The names of those cards are pretty confusing. The "5", the "fx", and the "128mb" gave me the idea that it was old. But there you go.
 
Old 11-03-2007, 11:08 PM   #13
Fugazi
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Denver
Distribution: Fedora 10
Posts: 53

Rep: Reputation: 15
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 2.13 GHz

Asus motherboard. P5BW-LA

2 gig of ram PC2-4200

2 X 300 gig SATA hard drives

SATA DVD burner and a SATA DVD rom drive

GeForce 7500LE 256 MB DDR video card\

Hauppauge PVR-500 TV card

I also got a 22" wide screen LCD monitor that I bought for my last computer.
 
Old 11-04-2007, 06:35 AM   #14
brianL
LQ 5k Club
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Oldham, Lancs, England
Distribution: Slackware & Slackware64 14.1
Posts: 7,039
Blog Entries: 52

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
There was a similar thread to this not long ago.

Motherboard: ASRock K7VT 4A Pro
Video card: NVidia GeForce4 MX 4000
CPU: AMD Sempron 2600+
RAM: 512MB
Hard Drive: Maxtor 40GB

HDD too small, must get a 2nd larger capacity one. Otherwise satisfied.
 
Old 11-04-2007, 07:07 AM   #15
masonm
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Following the white rabbit
Distribution: Slackware64 13.37 Android 4.0
Posts: 2,248

Rep: Reputation: 46
Two tin cans, some kite string, an abacus, and a hamster in a wheel to provide power.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
finding system specs mbreith Linux - Newbie 2 03-22-2006 03:12 AM
Blazing System Specs floppywhopper General 8 04-29-2005 05:03 PM
super samba thread tendaas Linux - Newbie 1 09-15-2004 03:41 PM
How can I find out my system specs? blueturtle Linux - Newbie 1 08-11-2004 09:04 AM
System specs? slightcrazed LQ Suggestions & Feedback 2 01-22-2004 09:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration