LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > General
User Name
Password
General This forum is for non-technical general discussion which can include both Linux and non-Linux topics. Have fun!

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2010, 09:04 PM   #1
moxieman99
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Dabble, but latest used are Fedora 13 and Ubuntu 10.4.1
Posts: 413

Rep: Reputation: 88
Contact at akamai / akamaitechnologies for complaints


Does anyone have any contact information for who to complaint to at akamai / akamaitechnologies over DoS, abuse, and port probe attacks using deploy.akamaitechnologies.com servers?

I've sent e-mails to abuse@akamai.com and abuse@akamaitechnologies.com to no avail. In the meantime my firewall has logged over 10,000 attempted connections from deploy.akamaitechnologies.com servers in 5 days (and only on a few hours each day), and I'm trying to figure out who to contact about it.

I received other abuse attacks from someone using Amazon AWS service, and one e-mail to Amazon AWS stopped it. Akamai? Doesn't even acknowledge the fact a complaint was made.

Any help would be appreciated.

Moxieman
 
Old 09-10-2010, 10:27 PM   #2
AsusDave
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2008
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu 10.04
Posts: 151

Rep: Reputation: 34
Good Luck!

I have even went so far as to contact the hosting company that hosts some of their servers in NC (kept getting a weird firewall log hit from them).

Talk a little more about your log hits. Is there a pattern? Do they happen at a specific time? Certain port? What is the makeup of your network? Do you have any users that leave their web browsers up overnight? (my hits kept happening at odd early am times, like clockwork!)

As far as I could tell, Akamai is used by some banner ads and streaming services. This may not help much, but may give you some starting points.

HTH
Dave
 
Old 09-10-2010, 10:51 PM   #3
moxieman99
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Dabble, but latest used are Fedora 13 and Ubuntu 10.4.1
Posts: 413

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 88
I'm on a home wireless connection, and the other computer is never "left on." So it's just me, essentially. All of the ports being hit are above 32000. The IP addresses are 184.*.*.*, with the bulk of those at 184.84.*.*. Often one IP will hit several different ports in a row and then shift IPs.

The attacks start less than a minute of my logging onto the internet.

What's maddening is Akamai does nothing about it.

I've filed a complaint with the FCC. I have no idea if they can do anything, but I'm hoping that the FCC passes along the complaint and Akamai gets the message.

Last edited by moxieman99; 09-10-2010 at 10:53 PM. Reason: one more detail and fixed a typo.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: OpSource, Akamai Unite to Score a Slice of $56B Cloud Market Pie LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 03-31-2009 02:20 AM
LXer: HowTo Collect Traffic Stats from Akamai using Perl LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 10-08-2008 02:20 AM
LXer: Akamai Wins Patent Dispute with Limelight LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 03-05-2008 12:11 AM
mplayer (plug-in) file not found with akamai mms servers sixerjman Linux - Software 5 03-04-2007 09:40 PM
No complaints scottown Red Hat 2 08-30-2003 11:34 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration