LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > General
User Name
Password
General This forum is for non-technical general discussion which can include both Linux and non-Linux topics. Have fun!

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 01-23-2011, 11:10 AM   #406
TobiSGD
Moderator
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Location: Hanover, Germany
Distribution: Main: Gentoo Others: What fits the task
Posts: 15,592
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047

I have just dowloaded the netinstall image for x86_64 and put it on my flash drive with
Code:
cat archlinux-2010.05-netinstall-x86_64.iso>/dev/sde
and it works fine.
 
Old 01-23-2011, 11:15 AM   #407
Kenny_Strawn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Location: /usa/ca/orange_county/lake_forest
Distribution: ArchBang, Google Android 2.1 + Motoblur (on Motortola Flipside), Google Chrome OS (on Cr-48)
Posts: 1,791
Blog Entries: 62

Rep: Reputation: 54
Yes, but the i686 image does *not* work. I have a 32-bit CPU, *not* a 64-bit one.

Last edited by Kenny_Strawn; 01-23-2011 at 11:17 AM.
 
Old 01-23-2011, 11:49 AM   #408
pbpersson
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Arizona, USA
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 40

Rep: Reputation: 19
In my house I have:

Windows XP Professional
Windows Vista Ultimate
Windows 7 Professional
Windows 7 Home
Ubuntu
Mint

I do all my work for the most part on Ubuntu. There is one thing I have not been able to do on Linux and that is convert TiVo movies to DVD format and burn them. I found a way to convert them but the video was very jerky so I am using Roxio Creator 9 to accomplish that. I think that is the only reason I need Windows now.

Which is better? Well, to compare apples to apples I would need to compare Ubuntu 10.04 to Windows 7 and they are both pretty impressive as far as I am concerned. They both "just work" right out of the box and when you venture off the beaten path they both become increasingly impossible to deal with.

However, my view of Linux has always been that it is easier to venture off the beaten path where things start to "not work". For instance, Ubuntu often has problems with wireless laptops. It all comes down to device drivers and the fact that manufacturers don't release their secrets so the Linux developers have to create drivers through trial and error.

When you consider the struggle that Linux has had to get this far, it is really pretty amazing. Imagine what it could do if the manufacturers started using common sense and helping their customers use their products instead of keeping secrets!
 
Old 01-23-2011, 12:17 PM   #409
TobiSGD
Moderator
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Location: Hanover, Germany
Distribution: Main: Gentoo Others: What fits the task
Posts: 15,592
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny_Strawn View Post
Yes, but the i686 image does *not* work. I have a 32-bit CPU, *not* a 64-bit one.
OK, so I have downloaded the i686-image and gave that a try booting from USB, and it just works. I have not expected otherwise, since it wouldn't make sense to drop USB-support only for the i686-image, but not for the x86_64-image.
 
Old 01-23-2011, 12:32 PM   #410
MTK358
LQ 5k Club
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,443
Blog Entries: 3

Rep: Reputation: 713Reputation: 713Reputation: 713Reputation: 713Reputation: 713Reputation: 713Reputation: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbpersson View Post
They both "just work" right out of the box and when you venture off the beaten path they both become increasingly impossible to deal with.
But simple (technically simple, not newbie-friendly) distros, even though they don't "just work" and take some learning to get used to, are easy to fix if something goes wrong.
 
Old 01-23-2011, 01:25 PM   #411
Kenny_Strawn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Location: /usa/ca/orange_county/lake_forest
Distribution: ArchBang, Google Android 2.1 + Motoblur (on Motortola Flipside), Google Chrome OS (on Cr-48)
Posts: 1,791
Blog Entries: 62

Rep: Reputation: 54
True, if you sacrifice ease of use what you get is more control. Sure. Yes, I did get the Arch ISO to work on the USB drive, but now the problem is the fact that wpa_supplicant *broke* my Atheros built-in network adapter and it took a reboot into Ubuntu to fix it.
 
Old 01-23-2011, 02:43 PM   #412
MrCode
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 864
Blog Entries: 31

Rep: Reputation: 148Reputation: 148
Quote:
now the problem is the fact that wpa_supplicant *broke* my Atheros built-in network adapter and it took a reboot into Ubuntu to fix it.
How does something like wpa_supplicant "break" your wireless card? All it does is associate/authenticate your WNIC with a WPA/WPA2-protected router.
 
Old 01-23-2011, 03:18 PM   #413
Kenny_Strawn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Location: /usa/ca/orange_county/lake_forest
Distribution: ArchBang, Google Android 2.1 + Motoblur (on Motortola Flipside), Google Chrome OS (on Cr-48)
Posts: 1,791
Blog Entries: 62

Rep: Reputation: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrCode View Post
How does something like wpa_supplicant "break" your wireless card? All it does is associate/authenticate your WNIC with a WPA/WPA2-protected router.
Because after attempting to use it (reading the manuals and everything) trying to 'iwlist wlan0 scanning' returns that the adapter doesn't work, and even when I rebooted into Ubuntu I literally had to manually connect to my already-configured network for *any* networks to reappear.
 
Old 01-23-2011, 03:25 PM   #414
Kenny_Strawn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Location: /usa/ca/orange_county/lake_forest
Distribution: ArchBang, Google Android 2.1 + Motoblur (on Motortola Flipside), Google Chrome OS (on Cr-48)
Posts: 1,791
Blog Entries: 62

Rep: Reputation: 54
But don't worry about it. I'm using LMDE, *not* Ubuntu anymore.
 
Old 01-23-2011, 05:33 PM   #415
soppy
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Location: In your head!
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 165
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny_Strawn View Post
But don't worry about it. I'm using LMDE, *not* Ubuntu anymore.
I've been wanting to try that, how is it Kenny? The only reason I haven't yet is because I dislike "deb" packages but I think with this distro I could learn to love it.
 
Old 01-23-2011, 05:40 PM   #416
Kenny_Strawn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Location: /usa/ca/orange_county/lake_forest
Distribution: ArchBang, Google Android 2.1 + Motoblur (on Motortola Flipside), Google Chrome OS (on Cr-48)
Posts: 1,791
Blog Entries: 62

Rep: Reputation: 54
Well, definitely a lot better than Ubuntu, and I love the fact that it's rolling release. They say it breaks easier, but in my opinion *not* as easy as Ubuntu 11.04 Alpha.

That said, there still are *some* issues (especially with package management: In some cases, you have to use dpkg to force packages to overwrite files while installing. And don't think you can use any Launchpad PPAs in it, because they'll really mess up your dependencies).
 
Old 01-23-2011, 11:11 PM   #417
tiredofbilkyyaforallican
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2010
Location: 3rd rock from the sun
Distribution: LMDE/Peppermint/Mint 9,&10/along with a few others
Posts: 152

Rep: Reputation: 22
I've been using LMDE since it was a Release Candidate and have had no real issues with it thus far. It is my main OS.
 
Old 01-23-2011, 11:49 PM   #418
soppy
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Location: In your head!
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 165
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 28
I think I'll five it a try this week sometime. Thanks for the info.
 
Old 01-24-2011, 06:12 AM   #419
TobiSGD
Moderator
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Location: Hanover, Germany
Distribution: Main: Gentoo Others: What fits the task
Posts: 15,592
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047Reputation: 4047
I am wondering if LMDE will still be so stable when Squeeze is released as Debian 6.0. There will be major changes in Testing after that.
 
Old 01-25-2011, 08:07 PM   #420
Kenny_Strawn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Location: /usa/ca/orange_county/lake_forest
Distribution: ArchBang, Google Android 2.1 + Motoblur (on Motortola Flipside), Google Chrome OS (on Cr-48)
Posts: 1,791
Blog Entries: 62

Rep: Reputation: 54
Well when are they planning on releasing Squeeze as Debian 6? I can't seem to find the Squeeze Release Schedule anywhere on the Debian wiki.
 
  


Reply

Tags
64bit, cloud, linux, microsoft, windows


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: Tutorial: Four Easy Fun Useful Things You Can Do With Linux LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 09-30-2008 11:41 PM
LXer: KDE 4: The Shiny New Linux (and Windows) Desktop LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 09-17-2007 06:10 PM
media server or other fun things. doralsoral Linux - Software 1 11-05-2005 07:55 AM
most fun & excited things about Linux woranl Linux - General 2 07-27-2004 08:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration