LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > General
User Name
Password
General This forum is for non-technical general discussion which can include both Linux and non-Linux topics. Have fun!

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 12-25-2012, 12:33 PM   #1636
dalek
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Mississippi USA
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 2,058
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 65

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nbiser View Post
Windows may have a use, for instance, my ISP doesn't support linux, so I have to use Windows as a sort of server.
I have had a few ISPs over the years. None of them support Linux but Linux works just fine. Right now, I have AT&T DSL. It's the only broadband connection available other than satelitte. Anyway, AT&T does not support Linux but Linux works just fine. This is especially true if it connects via ethernet. When I first got AT&T, I just pointed my web broswer to 192.168.0.1 and the menu for the modem came up. I entered the info needed for login and off it went. I didn't have to install any software from AT&T or anything.

One added bonus, when I call AT&T support and have a problem, I tell them I use Linux and need a advanced support tech. I get the advanced support department then usually get transfered one more time to a person that uses Linux. It seems there is always at least one available. Once there, I can provide them information and get great responces. Once, I even did some checking and helped them to figure out the problem was with a card in the box up the road. They sent a guy out to replace the card and we was back up in no time. It wasn't just me but also one other customer. There are two customers on each card here.

ISPs will say they don't support Linux but it does not mean you MUST use windoze. If they will work with a Mac, then it should work with Linux too. You just don't get all the fancy GUI stuff everytime. I think ethernet is the key tho USB could work too. I avoid USB modems like the plague.

 
Old 12-25-2012, 01:10 PM   #1637
Nbiser
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Distribution: Fedora, Slackware, Debian, Ubuntu, Knoppix, Helix,
Posts: 288
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalek View Post
I have had a few ISPs over the years. None of them support Linux but Linux works just fine. Right now, I have AT&T DSL. It's the only broadband connection available other than satelitte. Anyway, AT&T does not support Linux but Linux works just fine. This is especially true if it connects via ethernet. When I first got AT&T, I just pointed my web broswer to 192.168.0.1 and the menu for the modem came up. I entered the info needed for login and off it went. I didn't have to install any software from AT&T or anything.

One added bonus, when I call AT&T support and have a problem, I tell them I use Linux and need a advanced support tech. I get the advanced support department then usually get transfered one more time to a person that uses Linux. It seems there is always at least one available. Once there, I can provide them information and get great responces. Once, I even did some checking and helped them to figure out the problem was with a card in the box up the road. They sent a guy out to replace the card and we was back up in no time. It wasn't just me but also one other customer. There are two customers on each card here.

ISPs will say they don't support Linux but it does not mean you MUST use windoze. If they will work with a Mac, then it should work with Linux too. You just don't get all the fancy GUI stuff everytime. I think ethernet is the key tho USB could work too. I avoid USB modems like the plague.

Maybe I ought to call my ISP. I specifically asked them once via email if I could connect linux, and they wrote back and told me that I couldn't. I live in a very rural setting so all I have is dial-up. I'm thinking about getting wireless internet though.
 
Old 12-25-2012, 02:36 PM   #1638
dalek
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Mississippi USA
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 2,058
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nbiser View Post
Maybe I ought to call my ISP. I specifically asked them once via email if I could connect linux, and they wrote back and told me that I couldn't. I live in a very rural setting so all I have is dial-up. I'm thinking about getting wireless internet though.
If you don't mind, what ISP are you using?

 
Old 12-25-2012, 04:41 PM   #1639
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: infinity; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US, Earth
Distribution: any UNIXish that works well on my cheapest with mostly KDE, Xfce, JWM or CLI but open ;-)
Posts: 1,377
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 358Reputation: 358Reputation: 358Reputation: 358
My 3: internal, vaio-vpceb36gm and a d-link thumb drive for my Pi all work here in Milwukee on AT&T. I've had two different AT&T routers (not sure if its called a router at their main connector tho) the last one sucked and could not keep a connection. No problems with the newer one from a thrift-store.

My parents think they must use at&tS software so I have to keep fixing them +winDOWZ but my 2 plus the kids stay awesome, Linux.

Last edited by jamison20000e; 12-26-2012 at 07:25 AM.
 
Old 12-25-2012, 05:20 PM   #1640
dalek
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Mississippi USA
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 2,058
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamison20000e View Post
My 3: internal, vaio-vpceb36gm and a d-link thumb drive for my Pi all work here in Milwukee on AT&T. I've had two different AT&T routers (not sure if its called a router at their main connector tho) the last one sucked and could not keep a connection. No problems with the newer one from a thrift-store.

My parents think they must use at&tS software so I have to keep fixing them +winDOWZ but my 2 plus the kids stay awesome.
So you are connecting through a cell phone? Some other wireless? I ask because some URLs have disappeared in the other thread. Sort of reading between the lines here.

 
Old 12-25-2012, 06:37 PM   #1641
Nbiser
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Distribution: Fedora, Slackware, Debian, Ubuntu, Knoppix, Helix,
Posts: 288
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalek View Post
If you don't mind, what ISP are you using?

I'm using hereintown.net, provided by Atlantic Broadband.
 
Old 12-25-2012, 07:40 PM   #1642
dalek
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Mississippi USA
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 2,058
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nbiser View Post
I'm using hereintown.net, provided by Atlantic Broadband.
Holy smoke. Their idea of tech support is how to set your home page to their web address. I have used some bad ISPs in the past, this one takes the cake. Heck, it takes not only a slice but the whole cake.

From what I see, this is like a wireless connection that covers a lot of people, am I right? I see where they offer dial-up, DSL but if you have either of those, Linux should work fine.

I hope that one day soon, you get a REAL ISP. Jeez, people think AT&T is bad.

 
Old 12-25-2012, 09:22 PM   #1643
foodown
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 609

Rep: Reputation: 218Reputation: 218Reputation: 218
When an ISP says that they do not "support" Linux, they mean that they will not help you with it.

Every single ISP will work with Linux, MacOS, NetBSD, or an operating system that you wrote from scratch on your own.

If you're talking about dial-up PPP, PPP over ethernet, direct ethernet, DSL, cable, DS3, OC48, or whatever, these are all open standards and not specific to any subset of operating systems.

TL;DR ISPs just say that they don't support Linux so that they don't have to help people with Linux; any OS with a network stack will work with any ISP.

(Please don't respond and say that XYZ ISP is different; You're wrong, and XYZ ISP has fooled you in some way.)
 
Old 12-25-2012, 09:33 PM   #1644
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: infinity; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US, Earth
Distribution: any UNIXish that works well on my cheapest with mostly KDE, Xfce, JWM or CLI but open ;-)
Posts: 1,377
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 358Reputation: 358Reputation: 358Reputation: 358
sbc yahoo(them)\dsl\then wifi (http and on) to me

Last edited by jamison20000e; 12-26-2012 at 07:19 AM.
 
Old 12-26-2012, 07:58 AM   #1645
schneidz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: boston, usa
Distribution: fc-15/ fc-20-live-usb/ aix
Posts: 4,086

Rep: Reputation: 634Reputation: 634Reputation: 634Reputation: 634Reputation: 634Reputation: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by foodown View Post
When an ISP says that they do not "support" Linux, they mean that they will not help you with it.

Every single ISP will work with Linux, MacOS, NetBSD, or an operating system that you wrote from scratch on your own.

If you're talking about dial-up PPP, PPP over ethernet, direct ethernet, DSL, cable, DS3, OC48, or whatever, these are all open standards and not specific to any subset of operating systems.

TL;DR ISPs just say that they don't support Linux so that they don't have to help people with Linux; any OS with a network stack will work with any ISP.

(Please don't respond and say that XYZ ISP is different; You're wrong, and XYZ ISP has fooled you in some way.)
some provide connection software (e.g.- aol) that is windows only. you would be on your own to connect to their system without the software they provide.
 
Old 01-01-2013, 06:17 PM   #1646
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: infinity; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US, Earth
Distribution: any UNIXish that works well on my cheapest with mostly KDE, Xfce, JWM or CLI but open ;-)
Posts: 1,377
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 358Reputation: 358Reputation: 358Reputation: 358
Cool

dows 8 seems like a marketing scheme, laterally. Linux has gotten so easy to use over the years my new RPi has revamped my love in learning Bash+; sense of accomplishment 100%!
 
Old 01-08-2013, 08:29 PM   #1647
ghz24
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2012
Distribution: debians
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Maybe I ought to call my ISP. I specifically asked them once via email if I could connect linux, and they wrote back and told me that I couldn't. I live in a very rural setting so all I have is dial-up. I'm thinking about getting wireless internet though.
If your on dial-up you probably just need an external modem. Almost all internal modems are win-modems that use windows specific drivers. But I'd go wireless if it were reasonable.
RE linux vs windows . The better linux gets the less I dislike windows.
 
Old 01-09-2013, 05:16 AM   #1648
lupusarcanus
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 1,022
Blog Entries: 19

Rep: Reputation: 146Reputation: 146
Metro UI on Windows 8 is horrible. I hate it.
 
Old 01-09-2013, 07:56 AM   #1649
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: infinity; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US, Earth
Distribution: any UNIXish that works well on my cheapest with mostly KDE, Xfce, JWM or CLI but open ;-)
Posts: 1,377
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 358Reputation: 358Reputation: 358Reputation: 358
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by foodown View Post
When an ISP says that they do not "support" Linux, they mean that they will not help you with it.

Every single ISP will work with Linux, MacOS, NetBSD, or an operating system that you wrote from scratch on your own.

If you're talking about dial-up PPP, PPP over ethernet, direct ethernet, DSL, cable, DS3, OC48, or whatever, these are all open standards and not specific to any subset of operating systems.

TL;DR ISPs just say that they don't support Linux so that they don't have to help people with Linux; any OS with a network stack will work with any ISP.

(Please don't respond and say that XYZ ISP is different; You're wrong, and XYZ ISP has fooled you in some way.)
Buy Linux on a magazine rack if you have to! Put it in your drive...some\most will work!

Last edited by jamison20000e; 01-09-2013 at 08:03 AM.
 
Old 01-10-2013, 09:08 AM   #1650
sundialsvcs
Guru
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: SE Tennessee, USA
Distribution: Gentoo, LFS
Posts: 5,397

Rep: Reputation: 1114Reputation: 1114Reputation: 1114Reputation: 1114Reputation: 1114Reputation: 1114Reputation: 1114Reputation: 1114Reputation: 1114
Every internet provider is capable of supporting any operating system. What they won't tell you is "how." This is especially the case with Linux since there are so many ways to set up such a system. But you can find definitive information on the Internet ... once you (heh) can get to it.
 
  


Reply

Tags
64bit, cloud, linux, microsoft, windows


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: Tutorial: Four Easy Fun Useful Things You Can Do With Linux LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 09-30-2008 11:41 PM
LXer: KDE 4: The Shiny New Linux (and Windows) Desktop LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 09-17-2007 06:10 PM
media server or other fun things. doralsoral Linux - Software 1 11-05-2005 07:55 AM
most fun & excited things about Linux woranl Linux - General 2 07-27-2004 08:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration