LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2008, 03:24 PM   #1
Jongi
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian Sid 32/64-bit, F10 32/64-bit
Posts: 1,070

Rep: Reputation: 45
yum-updatesd on F9 (from KDE LiveCD)


so I have it installed and running

Code:
[root@Laptop ~]# chkconfig --list yum-updatesd
yum-updatesd    0:off   1:off   2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off
[root@Laptop ~]# service yum-updatesd status
yum-updatesd (pid 2223) is running...
Yet even when there are updates available (checked with yum check-update), I never see any icon that tells updates are available.

How do I get the icon to show?
 
Old 07-11-2008, 01:45 PM   #2
ronlau9
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Location: In front of my LINUX OR MAC BOX
Distribution: Mandriva 2009 X86_64 suse 11.3 X86_64 Centos X86_64 Debian X86_64 Linux MInt 86_64 OS X
Posts: 2,369

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
There is a icon on the wright side of the task bar it is a open box , when there are updates.



all the best
 
Old 07-12-2008, 05:59 AM   #3
Jongi
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian Sid 32/64-bit, F10 32/64-bit
Posts: 1,070

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 45
I know what the icon looks like. It is just never there.
 
Old 07-13-2008, 02:02 AM   #4
ronlau9
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Location: In front of my LINUX OR MAC BOX
Distribution: Mandriva 2009 X86_64 suse 11.3 X86_64 Centos X86_64 Debian X86_64 Linux MInt 86_64 OS X
Posts: 2,369

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Maybe a silly question one of the option in main menu is software update and here you can choice for a notification
if there is a update
Standard the notification is on , but maybe for one reason or a other is off by you

all the best
 
Old 07-26-2008, 05:30 PM   #5
Jongi
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian Sid 32/64-bit, F10 32/64-bit
Posts: 1,070

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 45
which DE are you assuming?
 
Old 07-27-2008, 01:39 AM   #6
ronlau9
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Location: In front of my LINUX OR MAC BOX
Distribution: Mandriva 2009 X86_64 suse 11.3 X86_64 Centos X86_64 Debian X86_64 Linux MInt 86_64 OS X
Posts: 2,369

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
You mentioned in you,re first post KDE LIVE so yes
 
Old 07-27-2008, 04:14 AM   #7
hlingler
Member
 
Registered: May 2007
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Distribution: Fedora 8/9/10/11
Posts: 71

Rep: Reputation: 15
Hi Jongi:

I don't know for sure that yum-updatesd actually gives a panel icon. The one ronlau9 is referring to is the packagechit icon. A quick look through the yum-updatesd RPM file list and docs seems to indicate that it can be set up to use dbus notifications of updates - but wouldn't those be pop-up notifications? Not sure.... Any way, since I never use (or like) any kind of auto-updates, I don't need (or like) any kind of notification, so I can't confirm for sure.

Regards,
V

P.S. And I'm running F9-KDE-Live-x86 (installed) on one machine, that's why I posted.

Last edited by hlingler; 07-27-2008 at 04:21 AM.
 
Old 07-27-2008, 07:06 AM   #8
ronlau9
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Location: In front of my LINUX OR MAC BOX
Distribution: Mandriva 2009 X86_64 suse 11.3 X86_64 Centos X86_64 Debian X86_64 Linux MInt 86_64 OS X
Posts: 2,369

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
No you configure as a notification or as a notification and updater at yhe same time
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yum-updatesd daemon does nothing elvisious Linux - Newbie 2 05-19-2007 03:43 PM
YUM Updatesd Smarajit Linux - Newbie 2 04-15-2007 03:49 AM
Enable logging in yum-updatesd needed nonfatalexec Fedora 9 01-27-2007 03:49 PM
Hanging on yum-updatesd rfleming Fedora - Installation 7 01-09-2007 03:19 PM
How can i update kde to kde 3.3.1 using yum? wicho_the_one Fedora 2 10-21-2004 05:50 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration