LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2007, 05:55 PM   #1
aero_b
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Distribution: Fedora 7 x86-64
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: 0
Question Software Updater in F7 can not resolve dependencies; therefore installs nothing


Hi,

Recent History:
I'm running Fedora 7 and everything seems to be going fine. I did run into trouble last time I let the Software Updater update fglrx: it screwed my graphics up completely to the point that I just uninstalled everything related to fglrx, ati and beryl (using Add/Remove software) and followed the instructions at another forum (click here) from the beginning. Now I've got my Desktop on a cube and even my native resolution works (1440x900, which was hard to get to work with my ATI X1300).

Current Problem:
Following all that fiddling, I am now running into the problem that Software Updater cannot resolve dependencies and therefore does not install anything. This means that the updates are slowly accumulating in that list of Available Updates...

Clues:
Here's what comes from clicking "Details" in the error message:

Code:
Missing Dependency: libdts.so.0()(64bit) is needed by package xine-lib-extras-nonfree
Missing Dependency: libx264.so.54()(64bit) is needed by package ffmpeg-libs
Missing Dependency: libdts.so.0()(64bit) is needed by package vlc
Missing Dependency: libx264.so.54()(64bit) is needed by package vlc
Missing Dependency: libdts.so.0()(64bit) is needed by package ffmpeg-libs
Packages to be installed/updated:
The problem is, "vlc" and "ffmpeg-libs" are not in the list of available updates so I think libdts.so and libx264.so may be dependencies of dependencies or something...

The packages that were in the list the first time this happened are:
* gstreamer-plugins-ugly
* libdca
* vcdimager
* x264
* xvidcore

Help!
I know I wrote a lot but I hope it's enough info and that you'll appreciate how organised it is . If there were at least a way to figure out which one is screwing it up and to remove it from my "Available Updates" list so that the problem doesn't prevent me from installing other updates, that would be a start.

Thanks!
 
Old 08-24-2007, 10:12 PM   #2
jay73
Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Location: Belgium
Distribution: Ubuntu 11.04, Debian testing
Posts: 5,019

Rep: Reputation: 130Reputation: 130
I remember running into a similar issue some months ago. It turned out that there was a conflict between two repositories (I believe freshRPMs and one of the official ones). When I disabled one of those, the update went just fine.
 
Old 08-25-2007, 12:05 AM   #3
aero_b
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Distribution: Fedora 7 x86-64
Posts: 12

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
That did the trick, thanks! I disabled the freshRPMs repository and updates worked.

For other newbs out there, here's what I did:

Code:
$ su-
# cd /etc/yum.repos.d
# vi freshrpms.repo
Then in the text editor, change "Enabled = 1" to "Enabled = 0" (for example, I had to press Insert to be able to change the text, then after editing it press Esc, then ":wq" to give the command to save [w = write] and quit [q = quit]).

That should do it.

(Now to find out if updating messed with my graphics again... I decided not to get the Kernel update just yet to avoid trouble.)
 
Old 08-25-2007, 12:44 AM   #4
jay73
Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Location: Belgium
Distribution: Ubuntu 11.04, Debian testing
Posts: 5,019

Rep: Reputation: 130Reputation: 130
You know that it can be a lot easier to edit files like that? Just do

sudo gedit /etc/yum.repos.d/freshrpms.repo

You may need to set up sudo first, though. In order to do so, run

visudo

and look for the line that says root ALL(ALL) ALL, then create an identical one on the next line but with your username instead of "root".

As for the graphics, this is just what will happen all the time. The thing is that graphics drivers match a specific kernel, so everytime you install a new kernel, you need to remove the old driver and reinstall a new one. On Fedora, that can be quite painless if you use livna to install both the new kernel and the new fglrx driver.
 
Old 09-06-2007, 09:16 AM   #5
cyberchuck
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: 0
I had the same trouble (libdts etc).

I made sure I had the "livna" repository enabled, then:

% yum remove x264 libdca faad2
[ libdca & faad2 were installed as ".fc7" versions ]

% yum install k3b-extras-nonfree
[ ended up grabbing things mostly from Livna ]

Voila!
 
Old 09-06-2007, 10:32 AM   #6
PTrenholme
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Location: Olympia, WA, USA
Distribution: Fedora, (K)Ubuntu
Posts: 4,154

Rep: Reputation: 333Reputation: 333Reputation: 333Reputation: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by jay73 View Post
[snip] As for the graphics, this is just what will happen all the time. The thing is that graphics drivers match a specific kernel, so every time you install a new kernel, you need to remove the old driver and reinstall a new one.[/snip]
He might want to look at the dkms package for automating the verifying and re-building of kernel modules during the boot process. (dkms runs as a service.) You use its configuration file to point it to the source code of the module, and, when the kernel version changes, it automatically recompiles the module for the new (or different) version, and installs it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay73 View Post
On Fedora, that can be quite painless if you use livna to install both the new kernel and the new fglrx driver.[/snip]
Thats only true if livna has released a version for the kernel he's using. Since he stated that he'd compiled his own kernel from sources, it's unlikely that livna would support it.
 
Old 09-29-2007, 01:21 PM   #7
slackergeek
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: 0
Smile

Yes, on Fedora Core 7 it was a YUM conflict, disabling the freshrpms.repo resolved the libdca dependency on my system.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failed dependencies for RPM installs Tom Douglas Linux - Newbie 7 08-19-2007 08:30 PM
fc6 - software updater - conflicts between attempted installs jaevans Fedora 3 03-12-2007 07:17 AM
resolve dependencies in lfs tomave Linux From Scratch 1 03-12-2006 03:57 PM
apt-get: don't resolve dependencies? merchtemeagle Debian 7 06-17-2005 03:11 PM
does pkgtool resolve dependencies? mcd Slackware 3 05-31-2004 10:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration