Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.


  Search this Thread
Old 06-19-2007, 12:11 PM   #1
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 96

Rep: Reputation: 15
Exclamation no print f7 - no tone for greek

Hello everyone

I just installed f7 and i can't use my printer.I have a lexmark e240 ,the system recognizes it but when i try to print i have no output.The printer is idle. (i use kde)
(In debian it works fine)

Also,i use greek language and i can't use tone.

Old 07-14-2007, 10:08 PM   #2
Senior Member
Registered: Dec 2004
Location: Olympia, WA, USA
Distribution: Fedora, (K)Ubuntu
Posts: 4,170

Rep: Reputation: 345Reputation: 345Reputation: 345Reputation: 345
For some reason (and I have no idea what that reason might be), Fedora often omits the cupsd service start, and even neglects to add it to the default list of services.

You can check to see if this is your problem by starting system-config-services and seeing if CUPS is listed and started. If it's not listed, click the add button (in the Actions drop-down list) and add it. If it is listed, but not checked, check it (so it will start automatically on boot) and then click on the start button.

You may also need to configure your printer. Enter http:/localhost:631 as a URL in any browser, and the CUPS interface should be displayed if CUPS is running.

If by "No tone for Greek," you meant "No accent for Greek," that would be a function of the font you're using. I think that there are several different Greek fonts available, but, since I neither read nor write Greek, I've never actually looked at the fonts available for Greek.

If you meant something else, please explain in more detail.

Last edited by PTrenholme; 07-14-2007 at 10:16 PM.


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
winmodem: no dial tone htamayo Linux - Hardware 0 11-23-2006 11:16 PM
regarding modem dial tone... mufy Linux - Hardware 1 12-31-2004 10:43 AM
No Dial Tone nickellis Linux - Newbie 1 02-27-2004 09:39 AM
No dial tone xlord Slackware 5 08-09-2003 11:38 AM
no dial tone message Culbert Linux - Hardware 2 05-08-2003 03:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM.

Main Menu
Write for LQ is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration