LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2007, 05:24 PM   #1
cletcher
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: 0
No lspci on fresh F7 install


I've installed Fedora 7 on both of my computers in the last couple of days. When I type lspci into the BASH prompt it says command not found. man lspci will show the lspci man page though? Any thoughts?
 
Old 09-05-2007, 05:53 PM   #2
Brian1
Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Seymour, Indiana
Distribution: Distribution: RHEL 5 with Pieces of this and that. Kernel 2.6.23.1, KDE 3.5.8 and KDE 4.0 beta, Plu
Posts: 5,700

Rep: Reputation: 61
I am guessing you are running the command as a user?
If so then the command is in /sbin. This directory is not part of a default users path. To run this command as a user you need to use the full path to the command.
/sbin/lspci

Now for the heads up on changing to root. If you type ' su ' and root's password then the command like lspci will not work because even though you are root you are still using the users enviroment variables. So you have to still use the full path to the command to run it.

If you ' su - ' then you are root and using root's enviroment variables. So /sbin directory is part of root's enviroment variables and you can use the command just as ' lspci '.

Brian
 
Old 09-05-2007, 10:41 PM   #3
cletcher
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Posts: 14

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Thanks! I checked to see if /sbin was in my $PATH. It wasn't... Now it is and lspci (and all the other commands in /sbin) work.
 
Old 09-06-2007, 12:42 AM   #4
cletcher
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Posts: 14

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
I seem to be having the same problem with the rpmbuild command. What directory might one find that command in?
 
Old 09-06-2007, 04:25 PM   #5
Brian1
Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Seymour, Indiana
Distribution: Distribution: RHEL 5 with Pieces of this and that. Kernel 2.6.23.1, KDE 3.5.8 and KDE 4.0 beta, Plu
Posts: 5,700

Rep: Reputation: 61
You can use the command whereis. whereis rpmbuild
To see if it is installed then the Redhat/Fedora package name is rpm-build
rpm -qa | grep rpm
If rpm-build is listed then use the command ' rpm -ql rpm-build '.

Brian
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FC6 fresh install won't start from XP CD to install XP 2nd ask_save Fedora 2 11-17-2006 06:23 AM
Belkin F5d7000 Install On FC4, odd lspci output Sabrelinux Linux - Hardware 1 05-20-2006 01:27 AM
On a Fresh install of 10.1, the Nforce drivers refuse to install.. K@rl` Slackware 2 02-25-2005 02:55 AM
lspci.. lspci -H.. difference on different meachines? rohan208 Linux - Wireless Networking 0 06-28-2004 11:19 AM
fresh install (fresh headache) powadha Slackware 2 03-06-2004 01:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration