LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 09-08-2012, 05:13 AM   #1
business_kid
Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 6,619

Rep: Reputation: 585Reputation: 585Reputation: 585Reputation: 585Reputation: 585Reputation: 585
Newbie F17 Install question


I took the Fedora 17 Electronic Lab variant, which came as a dvd which I wanted to install. I hit the 'Install to Drive" button; Anaconda started, examined the disks(but didn't ask me anything), took me through language, keyboard, and root password. Here I aborted, because I think I should have chosen the disk partition before that.

I want to set /dev/sda10 as /, /dev/sda7 as /home, and /dev/sda5 as /boot. Do I get that option? If not, what should I do? I don't want an LVM. Slackware64 is on there, and windows (spit) vista has not been deleted, and justifies that occasionally.
 
Old 09-08-2012, 08:15 AM   #2
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 12,164

Rep: Reputation: 784Reputation: 784Reputation: 784Reputation: 784Reputation: 784Reputation: 784Reputation: 784
According to the installation guide it looks like disk partitioning is after setting the root password.

http://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/...ide/index.html
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 09-08-2012, 11:01 AM   #3
business_kid
Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 6,619

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 585Reputation: 585Reputation: 585Reputation: 585Reputation: 585Reputation: 585
Well, Thank you, I risked it and went ahead. As you said, the hard disk options came later. Installed on sda10, I have some monkeying to do before I can get /home on board (usermod stuff, a backup and a try of CEELD) and I even managed to get wifi going. Now I'm off for the groupinstall command on this thing. I don't particularly like it yet, but that's strangeness and ignorance on my part.

There seems to be a lot of cgroups stuff going on. I am running a twincore turion, and will have to read up on that (one day).
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora F17 Install Problem No Bootloader fero4u123 Fedora 2 07-08-2012 11:42 AM
virt-install: kickstarting F17 from local ftp brianmcgee Linux - Virtualization and Cloud 3 07-05-2012 11:43 AM
Newbie install question tsemple Slackware - Installation 3 12-20-2003 09:52 PM
newbie install question pen gui Linux From Scratch 3 05-11-2003 03:03 PM
Newbie Question About Install jiauhen Linux - General 4 07-09-2002 11:57 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration