LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 11-24-2003, 01:55 PM   #1
cah
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: 0
New Fedora Review


Yes, this might be a review of Fedora, and not the most recent release, but given the traffic on the Fedora servers, getting the latest release is taking a while.
So, if you want to read another person's opinion on the distro and how it was shaping up, read on at:
http://tinyurl.com/wd8p

Someone might be interested.
 
Old 11-25-2003, 08:16 AM   #2
bencl5
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: I use gentoo, redhat, and lorma for kicks.
Posts: 44

Rep: Reputation: 15
I think the fedora core official release is out now. yarrow. and like you said it is hard to download..however if you want to get it quickly, just copy the name of the iso your downloading yarrow-cd1.iso or whatever it is called and do a google search for it. you can find other FTP servers that are sharing it and offer it much faster than fedora.redhat.com does.
 
Old 11-25-2003, 10:37 AM   #3
misc
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Distribution: Red Hat + Fedora
Posts: 1,074

Rep: Reputation: 53
Some of the add-on packages stuff is much easier to do with the help of http://www.fedora.us/wiki/FedoraHOWTO and http://rpm.livna.org

It would give you also good Firestarter or Shorewalls rpms made specifically for Fedora Core 1.

Btw: http://fedora.redhat.com/download/mirrors.html
 
Old 11-25-2003, 11:29 AM   #4
cah
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 12

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Yes, I know, I found the mirrors and have had them downloaded for a while -but not when I had free time. I'll be doing a review of the final one shortly once I get some spare time.

Firestarter rules!
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minislack review saxophobe LQ Suggestions & Feedback 4 03-08-2005 02:30 PM
is there a review for this? Zuggy General 2 12-22-2004 05:17 AM
Review of Fedora Core 3 as a Multimedia Laptop OS ccalvert Linux - Laptop and Netbook 3 12-15-2004 12:46 AM
Mini review of Fedora Core 3 - Test 1 btmiller Fedora 1 07-30-2004 06:18 PM
New Review cah Mandriva 0 11-24-2003 01:53 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration