LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 06-01-2009, 05:10 AM   #1
Thor_2.0
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2007
Location: Somewhere on my hard drive...
Distribution: Manjaro
Posts: 2,228
Blog Entries: 23

Rep: Reputation: 279Reputation: 279Reputation: 279
Talking my F10 = weird


Hi,

Ok, I know, I panic way-2-fast, but I was a ***-prisoner only recently and only recently broke loose, but my F10 behaves weirdly lately.

It seems/feels slower, the screen saver blocked (had to cold-reset ouch) and so on.

Can (long shot but hey) mono be infectable? I had some strange slow-down after downloading a mail - seemed big, and after that the PC sloooooooooooooooooooooowed down. Is up2speed now, but there is some "behaviour".

BTW, I "only" have 512 Mb on a P4 @ 2.4 - thought 2B enough, I guess...

So, do I panic 2 soon, 2 much, anyway?

Tnx!

Thor
PS - this is a free "fish in the pond" - if there's someone than CAN/wants to answer, that would be cool...
 
Old 06-01-2009, 09:37 AM   #2
mudman69
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: Whatever Works
Posts: 44

Rep: Reputation: 16
Well, the first thing I would do is download iotop. Then when your machine lags open 2 terminals run top in one terminal and iotop in another. Look at which process is hogging up CPU and/or IO usage. Then you can start to narrow down were your problem is coming from.

**Edit
Almost forgot when you run top look at the %MEM and also look at Swap's total and used. Usually if you swapping memory and not running anything really intensive thats a good indicator that you need more RAM.

Last edited by mudman69; 06-01-2009 at 09:41 AM.
 
Old 06-02-2009, 10:27 AM   #3
Thor_2.0
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2007
Location: Somewhere on my hard drive...
Distribution: Manjaro
Posts: 2,228
Blog Entries: 23

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 279Reputation: 279Reputation: 279
Thanks, I already looked at the system in such dept and when I run Eclipse, FileZilla, Bluefish and Firefox - with VLC player to hear some Jazz, it _could_ potentially drown the system.
Also, I suspect I had a virus in my system that did'nt get to start up. Normally that would be it, but the system kept being slow, so I suspect a dot-net badd-thing to try a start-and-infect - hence my frown at mono.

And of course, I have the ??? habit of letting my systems run for almost days on end...but I suspect Linux to be happy with that...the other one did wet itself after two hours...

Eh, and the extra memory is already a possibility....512Mb is minimal...

Tnx!

Thor
 
  


Reply

Tags
f10, infected, mono


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F10 won't resolve hostnames Ehtetur Fedora 3 12-31-2009 04:28 PM
static ip on F10 box andy1974 Fedora 13 01-27-2009 09:03 PM
F9->F10 No GDM DJOtaku Fedora 2 01-07-2009 08:29 AM
Upgrade F9 to F10 peeths003 Fedora 2 12-16-2008 01:51 AM
f10 installation d.code Fedora 2 12-02-2008 04:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration