LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 07-07-2008, 01:40 PM   #1
uncle-c
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Location: The Ether
Distribution: Fedora 14, Ubuntu , Slax 5.1.8, OpenSolaris, Centos 4.8
Posts: 296

Rep: Reputation: 30
Installing F9 from ISO on hard disk - Grub command help ?


Hello again.
This could be titled "How do I install Fedora 9 on a PC without CD or USB but which has a NIC
I'm trying to install Fedora 9 on a PC which has a very slow CD drive.
So I thought install from local hard disk would be quicker.
I followed instructions from this link :

http://shams.unlimitedandfree.com/page2.html

With the aid of DSL / Pmagic I managed to create a fat32 partition onto which I copied ( via Putty SCP on an XP machine) the fedora9 ISO.

Using the mount command ( with the -o loop options ) I also copied the isolinux directory onto the hda2 fat32 partition. So I have two directories on the fat32 partition :

/mnt/hda2/fedora9 Contains the fedora9 iso

/mnt/hda2/boot/isolinux The isolinux directory and all its files as copied from the iso.

I booted up the pc using a grub boot floppy and dropped into the grub command line. This is where I would kindly like some help.
What would be the correct grub command line to use. I have used the following and several other permutations with added parameters but to no avail :


Code:
grub > root (hd0,1)
grub > kernel /boot/isolinux/vmlinuz0
grub > initrd /boot/isolinux/initrd0.img
grub > boot
I get "Cannot find root file system" errors and get dropped into a minimal bash shell.

I booted up the original liveCD on another machine and saw the boot options / parameters :

Code:
vmlinuz initrd=initrd0.img
root=CDLABEL=Fedora9-Live-KDE-i686
rootfstype=1s09960 ro quiet liveimg rhgb check
What modifications should I make to my grub command line so I can boot fedora9 from HD and then install it on a separate partition on my hard drive ?


Cheers,

Uncle C

Last edited by uncle-c; 07-07-2008 at 01:42 PM.
 
Old 07-07-2008, 05:45 PM   #2
rjlee
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.04
Posts: 1,990

Rep: Reputation: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle-c View Post
Code:
grub > root (hd0,1)
grub > kernel /boot/isolinux/vmlinuz0
grub > initrd /boot/isolinux/initrd0.img
grub > boot
I get "Cannot find root file system" errors and get dropped into a minimal bash shell.
This means that your initrd or root parameter is incorrect. There should be a directory called /boot/isolinux/ on your hard disk, and it should contain a file named initrd0.img — if this file (and not initrd.img or some other variation) does exist, then grub can't find it.

At the minimal bash shell, try running this:
Code:
mount /dev/hda2 /media ; ls -l /media/boot/isolinux/
this will show you what files that grub can see in that directory. Then run
Code:
cat /etc/mtab
and check that the filesystem type shows as vfat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle-c View Post
I booted up the original liveCD on another machine and saw the boot options / parameters :

Code:
vmlinuz initrd=initrd0.img
root=CDLABEL=Fedora9-Live-KDE-i686
rootfstype=1s09960 ro quiet liveimg rhgb check
What modifications should I make to my grub command line so I can boot fedora9 from HD and then install it on a separate partition on my hard drive ?
initrd tells the installer where to get the ramdisk from. This is used to mount the install media in order to load hardware drivers needed during the install.

root tells the installer where to get the install media itself from (at least the part that boots it).

rootfstype tells grub what the filesystem type of root is.

You should probably keep the root and rootfstype lines, as these will be needed for the root filesystem.

Hope that helps,

—Robert J Lee
 
Old 07-08-2008, 05:13 AM   #3
uncle-c
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Location: The Ether
Distribution: Fedora 14, Ubuntu , Slax 5.1.8, OpenSolaris, Centos 4.8
Posts: 296

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Thanks for the reply Robert. I do have a directory on /mnt/hda2 called /boot/isolinux and this does contain both vmlinuz0 and initrd0.img. I think where I'm going wrong is with the root/rootfstype lines. If the ISO is on /mnt/hda2 ( which is fat32 formated) then I should add the lines :

Code:
grub > root (hd0,1)
grub > kernel /boot/isolinux/vmlinuz0 root=/dev/hda2 rootfstype=vfat ro quiet
grub > initrd /boot/isolinux/initrd0.img
grub > boot
I will try it when I get home.

Thanks,

UC

Last edited by uncle-c; 07-08-2008 at 05:14 AM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
booting an ISO on the hard disk lothario Linux - Software 4 02-17-2008 03:04 PM
Installing from an ISO on the hard disk nanodano Linux - Software 2 12-03-2006 07:01 AM
Install from hard disk with ISO JermJHart Mandriva 1 11-24-2004 12:50 AM
Creating Boot loader disks rather then installing GRUB to hard disk?? barry237 Fedora 1 06-19-2004 10:52 AM
1st HDD = RH9.0 (grub) ... How do I modify grub when adding 2nd hard disk ? Onyx^ Linux - Software 1 09-05-2003 09:16 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration