LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 06-02-2008, 06:10 PM   #1
tim914
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Distribution: Most of them :-)
Posts: 30

Rep: Reputation: 15
Question GDM Resolution stuck in F9


Hi Gang,

After installing F9, I am running X at 1440x900. My /etc/X11/xorg.conf has exactly one entry for 24 bit color depth - "1440x900". However, when I restart the system or logout, the GDM session resets to 800x600 mode and the display goes a bit odd (refresh rate I suspect).

Since GDM and X are supposedly sharing the xorg.conf file, how could gdm be getting an 800x600 setting since there isn't one in my xorg.conf?

BTW - if I reinstall my F7 disk, both are displaying at 1440x900.

Tim
 
Old 06-03-2008, 01:17 PM   #2
corgi
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Location: Norway
Distribution: Debian Etch, HP nc6320 laptop
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: 15
I don't use the same distro as you (I've got Debian) but your issue has something in common with one of mine, so I'll dexcribe it in case it might help point you in the right direction.

After upgrading by changing from the 'i810' graphics driver to the 'intel' driver, which works with the xrandr ('X Rotate AND Resize) utility, the following has happened:

When using an external LCD display with my laptop I initially achieved the max resolution of the external display (i.e. 1680x1050). However, suddenly now Gnome starts every time with a lower resolution 1250xsomething.

When I issue the command:

$xrandr

it reports 1680x1050 as the next available resolution above the active one. I can switch to it without any trouble by issuing:

$xrandr -s 1680x1050

However, I have not found out what the source of the problem is. Changing xorg.conf to specify only the wanted resolution does not solve the problem. Pretty annoying!

I am guessing there must be some other file in addition to xorg.conf that stores information that is used when starting the GUI.

Maybe you could check documentation on the exact order of processes and config files that are invoked when starting the GUI with your distribution?

Good luck!

Last edited by corgi; 06-03-2008 at 01:18 PM.
 
Old 06-03-2008, 01:54 PM   #3
tim914
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Distribution: Most of them :-)
Posts: 30

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Thanks, Ari,

I've been all over this and the GDM docs state multiple times that GDM reads it's settings from the xorg.conf.

For project, I clobbered my xorg.conf file and relaunched. Low and behold GDM appeared... So, there's obviously something else involved, but nothing that the GDM docs or code has revealed.

Tim
 
Old 06-04-2008, 01:13 AM   #4
corgi
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Location: Norway
Distribution: Debian Etch, HP nc6320 laptop
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: 15
I don't know if this helps, but this morning I solved my problem. I noticed something I hadn't noticed earlier:

When I got the login manager my display was actually in 1680x1050 resolution. After logging in, however, it changed to 1280x1024.

When I noticed this I chose 'Desktop' -> 'Preferences' -> 'Screen resolution' in Gnome. Here I switched to 1680x1050.

I logged out and in again, and now Gnome starts in my preferred resolution!

I suppose this means there is an configuration entry that can also be reached through the Gnome Configuration Editor that takes care of the issue.
 
Old 06-04-2008, 09:21 AM   #5
tim914
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Distribution: Most of them :-)
Posts: 30

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
For me, the changes in the Display Resolution and Screen Size settings aren't helping.

My issue is with the GDM login screen. My normal X session starts up correctly at 1440x900, but the GDM session insists on 800x600 and it gives my monitor fits...

Tim
 
  


Reply

Tags
fedora, gdm, resolution, x11, xorgconf


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does GDM and GNOME have different resolution settings? kushalkoolwal Debian 3 05-02-2008 05:21 PM
GDM stuck using XDMCP / cant log in locally davoman Linux - Desktop 2 04-30-2007 06:13 AM
stuck at 1024x768 resolution cboyd Linux - Laptop and Netbook 12 03-01-2005 11:49 AM
Stuck with awful resolution... jmshortNCSU Linux - Software 5 12-29-2004 06:12 AM
Resolution is stuck? synthesiz3d Debian 4 12-18-2004 09:52 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration