LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2010, 08:14 PM   #1
ceg4048
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: 1
After preupgrade f13 to f14 no f14 repos are found


Hi guys,
After preupgrade to f14 I was amazed to see that everything works. The only problem I can see though is that there is an anomaly with the yum repolist.

a uname -r confirms the 2.6.35.6-48.fc14.i686 kernel. However, a yum repolist all command shows:
Quote:
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, presto, refresh-packagekit
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
* fedora: mirror.cogentco.com
* fedora-source: mirror.cogentco.com
* updates: mirror.cogentco.com
repo id repo name status
adobe-linux-i386 Adobe Systems Incorporated enabled: 18
fedora Fedora 13 - i386 enabled: 16,814
fedora-debuginfo Fedora 13 - i386 - Debug disabled
fedora-source Fedora 13 - Source enabled: 0
livna rpm.livna.org for 13 - i386 disabled
livna-debuginfo rpm.livna.org for 13 - i386 - De disabled
livna-source rpm.livna.org for 13 - i386 - So disabled
rpmfusion-free RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Free disabled
rpmfusion-free-debuginfo RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Free disabled
rpmfusion-free-rawhide RPM Fusion for Fedora Rawhide - disabled
rpmfusion-free-rawhide-debuginfo RPM Fusion for Fedora Rawhide - disabled
rpmfusion-free-rawhide-source RPM Fusion for Fedora Rawhide - disabled
rpmfusion-free-source RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Free disabled
rpmfusion-free-updates RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Free disabled
rpmfusion-free-updates-debuginfo RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Free disabled
rpmfusion-free-updates-source RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Free disabled
rpmfusion-free-updates-testing RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Free disabled
rpmfusion-free-updates-testing-debuginfo RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Free disabled
rpmfusion-free-updates-testing-source RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Free disabled
rpmfusion-nonfree RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Nonfr disabled
rpmfusion-nonfree-debuginfo RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Nonfr disabled
rpmfusion-nonfree-rawhide RPM Fusion for Fedora Rawhide - disabled
rpmfusion-nonfree-rawhide-debuginfo RPM Fusion for Fedora Rawhide - disabled
rpmfusion-nonfree-rawhide-source RPM Fusion for Fedora Rawhide - disabled
rpmfusion-nonfree-source RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Nonfr disabled
rpmfusion-nonfree-updates RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Nonfr disabled
rpmfusion-nonfree-updates-debuginfo RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Nonfr disabled
rpmfusion-nonfree-updates-source RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Nonfr disabled
rpmfusion-nonfree-updates-testing RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Nonfr disabled
rpmfusion-nonfree-updates-testing-debuginfo RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Nonfr disabled
rpmfusion-nonfree-updates-testing-source RPM Fusion for Fedora 13 - Nonfr disabled
updates Fedora 13 - i386 - Updates enabled: 6,482
updates-debuginfo Fedora 13 - i386 - Updates - Deb disabled
updates-source Fedora 13 - Updates Source disabled
updates-testing Fedora 13 - i386 - Test Updates disabled
updates-testing-debuginfo Fedora 13 - i386 - Test Updates disabled
updates-testing-source Fedora 13 - Test Updates Source disabled
repolist: 23,314
I also tried downloading the fedora-release 14.1, but when I tried to install it I got:
Quote:
[root@Carbonic yum.repos.d]# rpm -ivh /home/Downloads/fedora-release-14-1.noarch.rpm
Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
package fedora-release-14-1.noarch is already installed
file /etc/fedora-release from install of fedora-release-14-1.noarch conflicts with file from package fedora-release-13-1.noarch
file /etc/issue from install of fedora-release-14-1.noarch conflicts with file from package fedora-release-13-1.noarch
file /etc/issue.net from install of fedora-release-14-1.noarch conflicts with file from package fedora-release-13-1.noarch
file /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora from install of fedora-release-14-1.noarch conflicts with file from package fedora-release-13-1.noarch
file /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-i386 from install of fedora-release-14-1.noarch conflicts with file from package fedora-release-13-1.noarch
file /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-sparc from install of fedora-release-14-1.noarch conflicts with file from package fedora-release-13-1.noarch
file /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-sparc64 from install of fedora-release-14-1.noarch conflicts with file from package fedora-release-13-1.noarch
file /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-x86_64 from install of fedora-release-14-1.noarch conflicts with file from package fedora-release-13-1.noarch
file /etc/rpm/macros.dist from install of fedora-release-14-1.noarch conflicts with file from package fedora-release-13-1.noarch
file /etc/system-release-cpe from install of fedora-release-14-1.noarch conflicts with file from package fedora-release-13-1.noarch
/etc/yum.conf looks like this:
Quote:
[main]
cachedir=/var/cache/yum/$basearch/$releasever
keepcache=0
debuglevel=2
logfile=/var/log/yum.log
exactarch=1
obsoletes=1
gpgcheck=1
plugins=1
installonly_limit=3
color=never

# This is the default, if you make this bigger yum won't see if the metadata
# is newer on the remote and so you'll "gain" the bandwidth of not having to
# download the new metadata and "pay" for it by yum not having correct
# information.
# It is esp. important, to have correct metadata, for distributions like
# Fedora which don't keep old packages around. If you don't like this checking
# interupting your command line usage, it's much better to have something
# manually check the metadata once an hour (yum-updatesd will do this).
# metadata_expire=90m

# PUT YOUR REPOS HERE OR IN separate files named file.repo
# in /etc/yum.repos.d
/etc/yum.conf (END)
Needless to say, a yum distro-sync only results in yum trying to downgrade all the f14 packages.

Here is a list of the files in yum.repos.d:
Quote:
[root@Carbonic yum.repos.d]# ls
adobe-linux-i386.repo rpmfusion-free-updates.repo
fedora.repo rpmfusion-free-updates-testing.repo
fedora-updates.repo rpmfusion-nonfree-rawhide.repo
fedora-updates-testing.repo rpmfusion-nonfree.repo
livna.repo rpmfusion-nonfree-updates.repo
rpmfusion-free-rawhide.repo rpmfusion-nonfree-updates-testing.repo
rpmfusion-free.repo
If I open up the fedora-updates file, for example this is what I see:
Quote:
[updates]
name=Fedora $releasever - $basearch - Updates
failovermethod=priority
baseurl=http://download.fedoraproject.org/pub/fedora/linux/updates/$releasever/$basearch/
mirrorlist=http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=updates-released-f$releasever&arch=$basearch
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-$basearch

[updates-debuginfo]
name=Fedora $releasever - $basearch - Updates - Debug
failovermethod=priority
baseurl=http://download.fedoraproject.org/pub/fedora/linux/updates/$releasever/$basearch/debug/
mirrorlist=http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=updates-released-debug-f$releasever&arch=$basearch
enabled=0
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-$basearch

[updates-source]
name=Fedora $releasever - Updates Source
failovermethod=priority
baseurl=http://download.fedoraproject.org/pub/fedora/linux/updates/$releasever/SRPMS/
mirrorlist=http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=updates-released-source-f$releasever&arch=$basearch
enabled=0
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-$basearch
fedora-updates.repo (END)
Could anyone give a clue as to how to get rid of the f13 repos and to allow the f14 repos to be active?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
 
Old 11-28-2010, 07:28 AM   #2
unSpawn
Moderator
 
Registered: May 2001
Posts: 27,693
Blog Entries: 54

Rep: Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceg4048 View Post
I also tried downloading the fedora-release 14.1, but when I tried to install it I got:
Code:
]# rpm -ivh /home/Downloads/fedora-release-14-1.noarch.rpm
Shouldn't you use 'rpm -Uvh /home/Downloads/fedora-release-14-1.noarch.rpm' (upgrade) instead?
 
Old 11-28-2010, 08:41 AM   #3
ceg4048
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 23

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
Hi unSpawn,
Well OK, I tried it again and got the following:
Quote:
[root@Carbonic Downloads]# rpm -Uvh fedora-release-14-1.noarch.rpm
Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
package fedora-release-14-1.noarch is already installed
The repo list still only shows f13 repos.

I don't understand why no f14 repos show if the rpm is already installed.

Cheers,
 
Old 11-28-2010, 09:32 AM   #4
unSpawn
Moderator
 
Registered: May 2001
Posts: 27,693
Blog Entries: 54

Rep: Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961
Quote:
package fedora-release-14-1.noarch is already installed
Try 'rpm -Uvh --force fedora-release-14-1.noarch.rpm'? I don't think the .repo files themselves (as they use "$releasever") but something else is blocking. What does 'rpm -qf /etc/yum.conf' return?
 
Old 11-28-2010, 06:53 PM   #5
ceg4048
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 23

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
Thumbs up

Hi unSpawn,
Yes the --force did the trick mate!

Now I get:
Quote:
[root@Carbonic Downloads]# rpm -qf /etc/yum.conf
yum-3.2.28-5.fc14.noarch
Yum repolist now shows:
Quote:
[root@Carbonic Downloads]# yum repolist
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, presto, refresh-packagekit
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
fedora/metalink | 20 kB 00:00
fedora-source/metalink | 18 kB 00:00
updates/metalink | 6.6 kB 00:00
* fedora: www.gtlib.gatech.edu
* fedora-source: www.gtlib.gatech.edu
* updates: mirror.hiwaay.net
adobe-linux-i386 | 951 B 00:00
updates | 4.7 kB 00:00
updates/primary_db | 1.9 MB 00:07
repo id repo name status
adobe-linux-i386 Adobe Systems Incorporated 18
fedora Fedora 14 - i386 17,883
fedora-source Fedora 14 - Source 0
updates Fedora 14 - i386 - Updates 2,682
repolist: 20,583
RPMFusion still seems to be missing so I'll try to add those.

Thanks so much!

Cheers,
 
Old 11-28-2010, 08:00 PM   #6
unSpawn
Moderator
 
Registered: May 2001
Posts: 27,693
Blog Entries: 54

Rep: Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961Reputation: 2961
You're welcome. Have fun!
 
Old 12-22-2010, 05:38 PM   #7
allinux4
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Distribution: fedora 14
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
The old "fedora-release.rpm" seems to stay installed even after "preupgrade" installs the new one. This came in handy when "preupgrade" crapped out the first time. I was able to reboot, do some installs and removes, and try again.
After a successful "preupgrade":
Code:
rpm -qa|grep fedora-release
showed that both fedora-releases were still installed.

Forcing a reinstall of fedora-release-14-1.noarch was the solution I saw here and was about to try it. Then I thought what if I just removed the old fedora-release.rpm. I was upgrading from 12 to 14,
so I used:
Code:
sudo rpm -e --test fedora-release-12-2.noarch
to see if it would erase easily and then did it for real with:
Code:
sudo rpm -e fedora-release-12-2.noarch
The correct repos then showed up with:
Code:
yum repolist all
 
Old 12-22-2010, 09:23 PM   #8
ceg4048
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 23

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
Hi,
That seems a clever solution as well. I'll keep that in my pocket for the next upgrade!

Thanks!

Cheers,
 
  


Reply

Tags
repositories


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can't run azureus on f14 timl Fedora 2 11-21-2010 08:23 PM
Anyone tried preupgrade from f13 to f14? terry-duell Fedora 14 11-20-2010 11:49 PM
how do I get the rpmfusion repos in F14? Pedroski Fedora 7 11-13-2010 07:40 PM
Help! **Locked out** of newly installed F14 system! Kenny_Strawn Fedora 6 11-07-2010 02:44 PM
F14 beta timl Fedora 2 09-27-2010 01:33 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration