LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password
Debian This forum is for the discussion of Debian Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 09-04-2007, 04:43 AM   #1
rzs
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
Get a black screen when logoff in Debian Etch..same problem with Ctrl+alt+f1


Hello,

I recently installed Debian Etch as a dual boot on my laptop . I am having an issue with logging off . Also ctrl+alt+f1 does not bring me to the shell . All I get is a black screen in both the cases and i have to manually shutdown my laptop and reboot.
I am however able to shutdown and restart from within gnome.I am new to linux so cant figure out whats wrong. I tried to find out what onboard video card im using from within windows by right clicking on the
desktop then going to :
display properties->settings->advanced->adapter and there it says :
VIA Chrome9 HC IGP.
I have already tried the following troubleshooting steps but it didnt work :

Already tried steps :
---------------------

1) Tried ctrl+alt+f5 , ctrl+alt+f7 ,ctrl+alt+backspace but get the same black screen and have to manually shutdown and reboot.

2) Added vga=771 at the end of the kernel line in /boot/grub/menu.lst . Also tried vga=773,vga=791

3) Ran the command :
Code:
 su cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep "Driver"
to get information on driver and the output of the above command is :

Code:
Driver    "kbd"
Driver    "mouse"
Driver    "vesa"
What could be going wrong ?
Please help.

Thanks
 
Old 09-04-2007, 11:35 AM   #2
farslayer
Guru
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Distribution: linuxdebian
Posts: 7,232
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 189Reputation: 189
First thing I would try is to edit xorg.conf and change "vesa" to "via"

by default I believe the via driver is automatically installed in etch..

Code:
aptitude search video-via
i A xserver-xorg-video-via          - X.Org X server -- VIA display driver

the actual driver project is here, in case you should need more info on the driver for some reason... http://www.openchrome.org/
 
Old 09-04-2007, 02:17 PM   #3
rzs
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Posts: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Hello farslayer,

Thanks for the reply . I ran the command
Code:
 aptitude search video-via
and the output was
Code:
 i A xserver-xorg-video-via          - X.Org X server -- VIA display driver
.
I also changed the "vesa" to "via" in xorg.conf. But then when i rebooted my system i got the following error :

Code:
Failed to start the X Server (your Graphical User Interface) . It is likely that it is not set up correctly . Would you like to view the X server output to diagnose the problem ?
I viewed the log file Xorg.0.log which is located at /var/log . At the end there was a line that said "No devices detected.Fatal server error:no screens found".
I was then taken to the shell where i changed "via" back to "vesa" in xorg.conf and was able to get to my desktop. But,the problem still persists.

Last edited by rzs; 09-04-2007 at 02:24 PM.
 
Old 09-04-2007, 03:40 PM   #4
farslayer
Guru
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Distribution: linuxdebian
Posts: 7,232
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 189Reputation: 189
So, it looks like the drivers included in Etch do not support your Via graphics chip set.. Ubuntu has a nice guide of how to download and install the latest openchrome drivers in Ubuntu. Should be pretty much the same in Debian, just no sudo..

http://www.hombrepac.com.ar/software...untu-edgy-610/


OH found a how-to on the openchrome site for Debian Etch
http://wiki.openchrome.org/tikiwiki/...code+on+Debian

Last edited by farslayer; 09-04-2007 at 03:43 PM.
 
Old 09-05-2007, 09:48 PM   #5
Rollo69
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Distribution: Slack 12.0
Posts: 190

Rep: Reputation: 30
VIA Chrome IGP

I'm not sure if this will or won't help but I searched about the VIA Chrome drivers for video and found this link VIA Arena. Hope this will help you. I'm still in the process of getting my new MSI mobo w/ VIA chipset up and running like I want.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ctrl-Alt-F1 = Black,blank screen? timkarwoski Linux - General 16 02-03-2012 07:46 PM
Cannot Login to Console - Ctrl+Alt+F1 gives me black screen robertpolson Linux - Software 6 05-15-2007 05:31 PM
Gnome crashes to black screen after boot up (though ctrl-alt-F2 gives a terminal) Gossamer Linux - Newbie 0 10-06-2005 02:32 AM
dark screen when pressing Ctrl + Alt + Backspace or Ctrl + Alt F1-F6 in Gnome or KDE trinoo Slackware 5 01-28-2005 09:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration