LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > DamnSmallLinux
User Name
Password
DamnSmallLinux This forum is for the discussion of DamnSmallLinux.

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 10-15-2009, 06:36 PM   #1
soldersplash
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu 13.10 (Gnome 3 desktop)
Posts: 20

Rep: Reputation: 0
Question Belkin F5D5020 16 bit PCMCIA network adapter not working under DSL4.4.10, any ideas?


Hello fellow DSL users!

I have just put DSL 4.4.10 on an old laptop.
Twinhead SL9T:-
P1 133MHz 128MB RAM 2GB HDD

Installed without hitch, working desktop Linux environment. Hurray!

Network adapter not working though. Booo!

Has anyone got any ideas how I can get the Belkin F5D5020 16 bit PCMCIA network adapter working under DSL 4.4.10 ?

In dmesg log there are some entries from 'pcnet_nc' reporting errors relating to this card and suggesting I try 'axnet_nc'. I went to quite a bit of trouble to get this driver used instead of 'pcnet_nc' and that hasn't helped. The card is still not working.

As a side issue, I joined up to the official DSL forum to get help on this but cannot post new topic due to lack of permission. I followed all the joining up instructions but cannot seem to get fully registered. I can log in with my user name and password OK but then can't post. Anyone got any thoughts on that?

Thanks,
Daniel.
 
Old 10-17-2009, 09:47 AM   #2
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 1,397

Rep: Reputation: 187Reputation: 187
what version of card, maybe this driver will work
orinoco_cs driver Belkin F5D6020 [only Version 1] the only other thing I've found are a few post about editing the pcmicia config files in /etc

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 10-17-2009 at 09:50 AM.
 
Old 10-17-2009, 04:05 PM   #3
soldersplash
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu 13.10 (Gnome 3 desktop)
Posts: 20

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Thanks for the reply colorpurple.

I tried

modprobe -r pcnet_cs

ok

modprobe orinoco_cs

then

lsmod

pcnet unloaded and orinoco loaded but when I

ifconfig eth0

Device eth0 does not exist.

Am I missing something or is there better way to load/unload drivers?

Cheers,
Daniel.
 
Old 10-17-2009, 08:09 PM   #4
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 1,397

Rep: Reputation: 187Reputation: 187
have you tried editing the /etc/pcmcia/config.opts file according to this http://tuxmobil.org/pcmcia_ci10403.html and then modprobe pcnet_cs
 
Old 10-18-2009, 03:14 PM   #5
soldersplash
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu 13.10 (Gnome 3 desktop)
Posts: 20

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Hi colorpurple,

If I try to edit /etc/pcmcia/config.opts, with root access, I have a problem saving it as nano give the following error:-

[Error writing /etc/pcmcia/config.opts: Read-only file system ]

Thanks again for the replies

Any more ideas?
 
Old 10-18-2009, 06:02 PM   #6
soldersplash
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu 13.10 (Gnome 3 desktop)
Posts: 20

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
colourpurple,

Again, thanks for trying. I am thinking that I would be better to ditch DSL having read that it's core developers have split and that the DSL site/forum is practically a graveyard now.

Cheers,
Daniel.
 
Old 10-21-2009, 10:55 PM   #7
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 1,397

Rep: Reputation: 187Reputation: 187
have work around to edit config.opts file if your still interested.
 
Old 10-22-2009, 02:33 PM   #8
soldersplash
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu 13.10 (Gnome 3 desktop)
Posts: 20

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Hi colorpurple,
Since I am struggling to get any other distro to run at all on the atticware, yes, I would like to know how to fix that config file please
Daniel.
 
Old 10-23-2009, 05:57 AM   #9
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 1,397

Rep: Reputation: 187Reputation: 187
copy the file to your home directory edit the file, copy the file back. then add the file to the filetool.lst from the menu then save/backup. The file is a link to /KNOPPIX/etc/pcmcia/config.opts which is a read only file system setup at boot time. if you want to try another distro try using puppy 2.15ce edition from puppy archives and use xvesa.

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 10-23-2009 at 06:07 AM.
 
  


Reply

Tags
belkin, dsl, networking


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Belkin Wireless G Network Adapter on Slax Linuxion Linux - Wireless Networking 12 08-25-2007 08:43 AM
belkin wifi notebook adapter not working flyereddie MEPIS 1 07-23-2006 12:01 AM
Belkin Wireless Network Adapter Not working under fedora xbennyboy Linux - Hardware 2 01-09-2005 02:17 PM
Belkin 10/100 Ethernet Adapter Not Working With Fedora mrjoshuashua Linux - Networking 0 02-08-2004 04:01 PM
Belkin F5D5020 on redhat9 chrull Linux - Networking 1 11-05-2003 05:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration